The Secret of a Heart Note

The Secret of a Heart Note

by Stacey Lee

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Overview

From critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love—while protecting her own heart at all costs—perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E. Lockhart.

Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.

At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee’s The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one’s place in the world.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062428325
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 12/27/2016
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 825,067
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Secret of a Heart Note 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TBH, I'm a total Stacey Lee fangirl. I love all her books. THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE is super cute and fun to read.
The-Broke-Book-Bank More than 1 year ago
I feel in love with Stacey Lee's second novel, Outrun the Moon. I was super excited to have won an ARC copy of her newest book, The Secret of a Heart Note. I love the herb alchemy BFF is
mcflywithcheese More than 1 year ago
This book took me by surprise with how dryly funny and weird it is. It shares DNA with Jane Austen's EMMA and PUSHING DAISIES and screwball comedies while still being its own wondrous, magical thing. I was also impressed by the tightly-constructed plot. So good.
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars Mim lives a sheltered life with her mom at home. She longs to be a kid and experience school but being a aromateur like her mother, takes up most of her day. Being the only two aromateurs, Mim and her mother are quite busy making elixirs for individuals looking for a love potion. When her mother finally allows Mim to attend school, she finds herself overwhelmed with too much responsibility and not enough time. Mim plows ahead as she finally has got what she has always wanted but now Mim has created a problem, a huge problem for a aromateur and one that Mim doesn’t want to tell her mother about. I liked that Mim tried to handle her own problems and boy, did this girl have the problems. It seems that every time she turned around, something else would crop up and she was trying to fix it. Others tried to help her but Mim still had a part in it, for it was her problem to begin with. I liked the magical aspects of this novel, how the different plants and flowers mixed together would do or fix something. It seemed natural, in its own way. I really enjoyed Mim’s aunt. This lady was a fun and uplifting character, that came when Mim needed her, although they did not have much of a past together. She wasn’t there to intrude or to be domineering, she was there for Mim, to help her. In the end, what Mim’s aunt did for her was huge. I found this novel entertaining and fun to read.
Morgan_S_M More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much! I read a couple reviews that called it a modern California fairy tale and it really feels like that; it sort of reminds me of Practical Magic and Chocolat in the charming, witchy love aspects, meets Clueless for the mix ups. The aromateurs had such an interesting history and I love that this book had a fresh concept. It felt really unique! The characters were rich and complex, and I especially loved Mim. She was so relatable in her wish to be a normal teenager while still having this amazing gift. And the writing! The descriptions were lush and inviting, so easy to imagine the scents and smells. I've always had a thing about smells btw, and how they relate to memories. It never felt overdone to me; it was whimsical but not cloying. And the book was romantic! So romantic, though I loved that it focused on familial love and friendship too. Highly recommended :)
sheltisebastian More than 1 year ago
Interesting. "Love witches can't love" Magical realism. The main character is Mimosa who goes out of her way to please her mother even doing things she doesn't want to do. Mimosa makes loves potions to get people to fall in love etc. I found this book to be interesting because I am an indie perfumer, and a YA fantasy book junkie. So this was cute, out of my norm of things I tend to read. Fluffy and fun!
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “Love witches can’t love.” This was a YA magical realism story, about a girl who created love elixirs using a heightened sense of smell. Mimosa was an interesting character, and she certainly went out of her way to try and please her mother, even when it mean doing things she didn’t want to do. The storyline in this was about Mimosa accidentally giving a love elixir to the wrong person, and then having to work to try and rectify her mistake by creating a new elixir to counteract the effects of the first. We also got quite a slow burning, forbidden romance happening between Mimosa and a boy called Court, as Mimosa had been brought up to believe that falling in love led to losing her heightened sense of smell, and her ability to create elixirs. The ending to this was pretty good, and I was pleased with the way things were tied up. 7 out of 10
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this on a whim, but wasn't quite sure what to expect. I loved Mim. She's smart and well meaning and probably one of the most genuine MC's I've read before. I loved being in her head. There's also an excellent cast of secondary characters: I loved Kali and Court, but Bryony stole every scene she was in. The best part of this book is the smells and how emotions are scented. If even half of the information about the flowers is correct, I'm seriously impressed. The writing is gorgeous and the story was an excellent mash up of decadence and whimsy. I'm sure it'll be one that I read again. **Huge thanks to Katherine Tegen Books and Edelweiss for providing the arc free of charge**