The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book

The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book

by Jon M. Sweeney

Paperback

$16.27 $16.99 Save 4% Current price is $16.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 4%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book by Jon M. Sweeney

In the tradition of The St. Francis Prayer Book, Jon Sweeney offers an ancient-medieval way of understanding and experiencing the Gospel: the Holy Fool. This countercultural approach is exemplified in the life and teachings of Francis of Assisi, the most popular Saint in history, and his good friend, Brother Juniper.
 
What does it mean to be a fool for Christ? It meant to St. Francis: being small not strong, valuing joy over pleasure, avoiding positions of power, and enjoying rather than avoiding moments of insecurity, fear, and awkwardness. These practices revealed to the first Franciscans how being foolish in the eyes of the world is a sure way to discover a renewed sense of the presence of God.
 
Includes a week of daily offices focused on the concept of the Holy Fool and spiritual practices for countercultural living.
 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781612618302
Publisher: Paraclete Press
Publication date: 09/12/2017
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 1,286,612
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 7.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Jon M. Sweeney is an independent scholar and one of religion's most respected writers. He is the bestselling author of The Pope Who Quit. Sweeney's other works include When Saint Francis Saved the Church, Inventing Hell, The Complete Francis of Assisi, and The St. Francis Prayer Book. He writes regularly for America and The Tablet.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“Readers are invited into the foolish world of prayer in order to become more grounded in, open to, and inspired by the Christian tradition modeled by St. Francis of Assisi. Consider taking a retreat from the absurdity of our busy world to enter more deeply into the foolish peace of God.” — Daniel P. Horan, OFM, author, God is Not Fair and other Reasons for Gratitude (2016)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews