The Trap

The Trap

by Melanie Raabe, Imogen Taylor

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

I know you killed my sister.
I wrote this book for you. 
Twelve years ago, Linda’s sister Anna was murdered. Her killer was never caught, but Linda saw his face. Now, all these years on, she’s just seen him again.
On TV.
He has become a well-known reporter, and Linda—a famous novelist and infamous recluse—knows no one will believe her if she accuses him. But she has a plan: she writes a thriller about a woman who is murdered, her killer never caught. When the book is published, she agrees to give just one interview.
At home.
To the one person who knows more about the case than she does.

Melanie Raabe grew up in Thuringia, Germany, and attended the Ruhr University Bochum, where she specialised in media studies and literature. After graduating, she moved to Cologne to work as a journalist by day and secretly write books by night. The Trap, her debut novel, is an international bestseller. Her second book The Stranger, already a bestseller in Germany, will be published by Text in 2017.

‘The tables turn and turn again, while the reader's trust in the narrator's credibility is tested to the max.’ Sydney Morning Herald

‘You won’t be able to resist.' Elle UK

‘A mind-bending psychological thriller…An intriguing debut novel.’ Otago Daily Times

‘Suspenseful...taut storytelling.’ Publishers Weekly

‘Raabe has crafted a brilliant psychological thriller. It is fast-paced with an abundance of twists and red herrings, and more than one heart-stopping climax.’ BookMooch

‘A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.’ Booklist

‘A gripping psychological thriller with a literary difference. Fact and fiction blur as we race towards the dramatic conclusion never quite sure what to expect next.’ Better Reading

‘Engrossing.’ SA Weekend

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455592913
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 07/05/2016
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 35,202
File size: 821 KB

About the Author

Melanie Raabe grew up in Thuringia, Germany, and attended the Ruhr University Bochum, where she specialised in media studies and literature. After graduating, she moved to Cologne to work as a journalist by day and secretly write books by night. The Trap, her debut novel, is an international bestseller. Her second book, already a bestseller in Germany, will be published by Text in 2017.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Trap 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This will keep you guessing for a while! I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Our protagonist behaved in all ways sane. It was an insane life situation she was trying to live and heal in. THIS NOVEL IS BELIEVEABLE. I was spellbound. Thank you and please keep writing.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
The Trap is the first novel by German author, Melanie Raabe. When reclusive author Linda Conrads sees the man who, twelve years ago, murdered her sister, Anna, on a TV news program, she is shocked and stunned. Even though Superintendent Julian Schumer promised her he would find the killer, the case was never solved. Now Linda can put a name to the face that has haunted her since that August day in 2002: Victor Lenzen. Lenzen is a well-known journalist, respected for his reports from Afghanistan, the Middle East, London and Asia. Linda’s eye-witness account was received with some scepticism at the time: will anyone believe her now? She hatches a plan to get him where she can interrogate him. She writes a novel, Blood Sisters, about the murder and agrees to give an exclusive interview, at her home, to one journalist: Lenzen. Raabe has crafted a brilliant psychological thriller. It is fast-paced with an abundance of twists and red herrings, and more than one heart-stopping climax. From the beginning Raabe sows the seeds of doubt about the reliability of the narrative, and she allows these to germinate as the story progresses. She uses the interesting device of a narrative within a narrative: the text of Linda’s novel parallels, to some extent, real life events, and elaborates on the details of the murder investigation. Raabe treats the reader to some lovely descriptive prose: “I keep trying to drive away the thought of Anna, but it’s sticky, like old-fashioned flypaper. Other dark thoughts get stuck to it; there’s no stopping them” and “…I had trouble driving away the thoughts that came at night and settled on my bed like crows” are examples. This outstanding debut novel is flawlessly translated by Imogen Taylor.
Twink More than 1 year ago
3.5 The Trap is Melanie Raabe's debut novel. The tagline on the cover is a great invitation to open up the book and read more..."I know who killed my sister. I wrote this book for him." Author Linda Conrads has not left her house in eleven years. The death of her sister was incredibley traumatic - she was brutally murdered in her own home - and Linda saw the man as he fled the house. The killer was never apprehended. Linda has retreated..."It's not a wide world, my world, but it is safe. At least that's what I thought." While watching the news on television one evening, Linda is stunned - she has immediately recognized the murderer on the screen. Unable to leave her house, she is determined to catch the killer with the only power she has - the written word. Linda Conrads' newest book will mirror the circumstances and details of the actual case - and draw out the murderer. Or will it? As her plan comes to fruition, Linda is now not as sure as she was and she begins to doubt her memories - and her sanity. Oh, my goodness, does Raabe play with the reader. I was on board with Linda and her idea to expose the crime through her book. (Linda's parallel book is within the pages of The Trap. As the book progresses, we learn more of the past) But then, Raabe turns things upside down. Our narrator may not be as reliable as we initially believed. I love unreliable main characters, trying to decide what's real, right and the truth as I read. Raabe turns things around more than once as the book progresses. There's a lovely little cat and mouse game between Linda and the alleged murderer. Hmm, makes the title The Trap even more apropos. I did however, find some of the plot devices a bit of a stretch. Linda never confides in her friends, never talks to police about her suspicions, but instead devises a plan that will take quite a while to execute - she needs to first write a book. But it is a novel idea. (yes, pun intended ) I was drawn in by Linda's history, story and quest, but only as a removed, impartial witness - I never really connected personally with her and her grief and guilt. The word thriller has been attached to the promotion of The Trap. I myself found it to be more of a slow building plot, drawing on alternate scenarios and answers, before making its way to the final reveal. Sony Pictures has already picked up the film rights for The Trap