The Unexpected Past of Miss Jane Austen: A page-turning story of adventure, friendship and family

The Unexpected Past of Miss Jane Austen: A page-turning story of adventure, friendship and family

by Ada Bright, Cass Grafton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Rose Wallace thought her time-travelling adventures were over. Jane Austen is about to prove her wrong.

After becoming trapped in present-day Bath due to a mishap with her time-travelling charm, Jane Austen is safe and sound back in the 1800s thanks to Rose’s help. Now, Rose is ready to focus on her fledgling romance with dreamy Dr Aiden Trevellyan.

But when Jane reappears in the present, it looks like Rose and Aiden have no choice but to follow her back to 1813…

Staying in the Austen household, Rose and Aiden are introduced to a number of interesting figures from the past, including Jane’s eccentric – and surprisingly modern – neighbour. Suddenly Rose’s life is in need of a re-write as she discovers some unexpected ties to Jane Austen's world and her past.

The sequel to The Particular Charm of Miss Jane Austen is perfect for fans of Victoria Connelly's Austen Addicts series and The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler.

Praise for The Unexpected Past of Miss Jane Austen:

"The mix of historical fiction, romance and time travel works perfectly and this novel is entertaining and unputdownable." 5* Reader review

"It felt as if I had been let into the home of Jane Austen herself and was allowed glimpses of how her life would have been lived. A fabulous and well-written read." 5* Reader review

"This book was as entertaining and funny as the first book ... It was full of historical tidbits about the properties surrounding Jane’s home in Chawton village. It made me want to pay it a visit!" 5* Reader review

"This was even better than the previous book. It was written so well and the pace of the story was perfect. A must read book." 5* Reader review

"I absolutely adored this book. Rose’s budding romance with Aiden kept me smiling while her emerging past kept me crying. Read it if you like Jane Austen, if you like to laugh and cry with the characters." 5* Reader review

"The Unexpected Past of Miss Jane Austen is a perfect sequel to book one, the characters develop and relationships are tested. Rose is a wonderfully inviting character and the book exudes warmth, surprise and toil in spades." 5* Reader review

“I really loved reading this, as much as the first in the series. The characters are well developed, the plot is interesting and the minor cliffhanger makes me hope for a third book in this series. The book is also hilarious at times and I did laugh out loud.” 5* Reader review

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788633703
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 11/07/2019
Series: The Austen Adventures , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 300
Sales rank: 110,560
File size: 496 KB

About the Author

Ada has lived all her life in Southern California, which makes her intolerant to any weather above or below 72 degrees Fahrenheit. She grew up much more fond of reading than sports or socializing and still tends to ignore everyone she loves, all her responsibilities and basic life needs when she’s in the middle of a book.

She is luckily married to a handsome and funny man who doesn’t mind that the laundry never gets put away and she has three amazing children. Ada spent over a decade as a photographer before dedicating herself to writing, though she still believes that life should be documented well and often.

There is nothing she loves more than a good, subtle love story whether it be in real life, tv, movie, theatre or book form… well, except cake. She also really loves cake.


A proud bookworm since childhood, Cass writes the sort of stories she loves to read - heart-warming, character driven and strong on location. Having moved around extensively and lived in three countries, she finds places inspiring and the setting of her novels often becomes as much a part of the story as her characters.

She has an over-active imagination, is prone to crying with happiness as much as she is at sadness, but when it comes to her writing she leans heavily towards the upbeat and insists on a happy ever after. As one of her favourite authors, Jane Austen, once wrote, ‘let other pens dwell on guilt and misery’.

Cass loves travelling, words, cats and wine, and enjoys them in any combination. She currently splits her time between Switzerland, where she lives with her patient husband, and England, where she lives with her characters.

Customer Reviews