The Vermeer Deception: An Art Mystery

The Vermeer Deception: An Art Mystery

by Jennifer S Alderson
The Vermeer Deception: An Art Mystery

The Vermeer Deception: An Art Mystery

by Jennifer S Alderson


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, February 27
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


An art historian finds - then loses - a portrait by Johannes Vermeer in this thrilling art mystery set in Munich, Heidelberg, and Amsterdam.

When Zelda Richardson investigates a new lead about a missing portrait by Johannes Vermeer, no one expects her to actually find the painting in a retired art dealer's home in Munich, Germany. Not her parents visiting from America; her boss, private detective Vincent de Graaf; or the rightful owner of the Nazi-looted artwork.

However, Zelda's jubilation turns to horror when she arrives to pick up the portrait and finds the art dealer dead and several frames smoldering in his fireplace.

Was the Vermeer a fake and its 'discovery' a cruel joke played on a Nazi victim? The Munich police, Zelda's family, and Vincent certainly think so.

Yet the art dealer's best friend believes he was murdered and the real Vermeer stolen by an underground network of art looters, one established during World War II and still active today. The problem is, no one believes him - except Zelda.

Zelda soon finds herself in a dangerous game of cat-and-mouse with immoral art collectors, corrupt dealers, and an all-to-real killer who wants her to stop searching.

Can Zelda uncover the truth about the Vermeer before she is painted out of the picture permanently?

The Vermeer Deception is Book 4 in the Zelda Richardson Mystery Series. The novels in this series can be read in any order.

PLEASE NOTE: This is a revised edition of the originally published novel. (Updated August 2022)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9789083001166
Publisher: Traveling Life Press
Publication date: 04/10/2020
Series: Zelda Richardson Mystery , #4
Pages: 190
Sales rank: 853,396
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Jennifer S. Alderson was born in San Francisco, raised in Seattle, and currently lives in Amsterdam. After traveling extensively around Asia, Oceania, and Central America, she moved to Darwin, Australia, before finally settling in the Netherlands. When not writing, she can be found in a museum, biking around Amsterdam, or enjoying a coffee along the canal while planning her next research trip. Jennifer's love of travel, art, and culture inspires her award-winning Zelda Richardson Mystery series, her Travel Can Be Murder Cozy Mysteries, and her standalone stories.

Table of Contents


1 The First Signs of Spring

2 The Lost Vermeer

3 Upholding Family Honor

4 A Nazi Art Clearinghouse

5 Degenerate Art

6 The Golden Quadrangle

7 A Half-Century of Life

8 Amateur Photography

9 Kurt’s Plan

10 Jacob Arrives Home

11 Calling in a Favor

12 The Windmills of Zaanse Schans

13 Setting Up the Swiss

14 Keeping Up Appearances

15 Exploring Munich

16 Visiting the Neue Gallery

17 Skeptical Hope

18 Childhood Memories

19 A Few More Days

20 Confusion on Hackenstrasse

21 Cruel Deception

22 What Network?

23 Dancing on Tables

24 Hunting for Art

25 Victor du Grave

26 The Art Looting Network

27 Monuments Men at Neuschwanstein

28 Naughty Boy

29 Ties That Bind

30 Kernel of Truth

31 Tickle Torture

32 Black Sheep

33 Initiating Kurt’s Plan

34 A Dream Come True

35 One Problem Solved

36 Is It True?

37 A Quick Trip to Heidelberg

38 Start Apologizing

39 You Feel Like a Fool?

40 A Simple Gold Band

41 A Profitable Day


About the Author

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews