The Ward Witch

Mysterious, magical, and a little bit deadly... Welcome to Unholy Island.

Esme Gray runs the guest house and tends to the ethereal wards that protect the island. She's sheltering from a terrible past and will do anything to stay safely hidden.

Luke Taylor has been searching for his missing twin for months, but has begun to believe that his brother might be dead. With his hope in tatters, a tip off leads him to a remote tidal island in the North Sea. It's further out than the famous Holy Island, and far stranger.

Visitors shouldn't be able to stay for more than two nights, so when Luke breaks this rule, the close-knit community is sent into turmoil. The residents of Unholy Island have secrets and they intend to keep them.

When Luke stumbles across one of the islanders dead on the shore, he finds himself under suspicion, made worse by his own troubles washing up on the tide.

Esme is drawn to Luke, but she doesn't trust her own instincts. That's not ideal for a witch - especially when there is a killer on the loose and a storm is rolling in...

The Ward Witch is the first book in a brand new contemporary fantasy series from the bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter.

*The Ward Witch is set in the same world as the urban fantasy mystery books, Crow Investigations, but it is the start of a separate series and can be enjoyed independently.

Praise for the Crow Investigations Series:

'I'm a huge fan!' Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels

'My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!'

Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled

'The Lydia Crow books are a firm favourite of mine, combining intriguing crime fiction with a hint of other-worldly mysticism. The characters are brilliantly drawn, and Sarah Painter cleverly makes them believable despite them having magical powers - or even being dead. With just enough comedy to make the dark bits even darker, and the perfect amount of mystery, these books are a wonderful read.' Kerry Barrett

"1143504686"
The Ward Witch

Mysterious, magical, and a little bit deadly... Welcome to Unholy Island.

Esme Gray runs the guest house and tends to the ethereal wards that protect the island. She's sheltering from a terrible past and will do anything to stay safely hidden.

Luke Taylor has been searching for his missing twin for months, but has begun to believe that his brother might be dead. With his hope in tatters, a tip off leads him to a remote tidal island in the North Sea. It's further out than the famous Holy Island, and far stranger.

Visitors shouldn't be able to stay for more than two nights, so when Luke breaks this rule, the close-knit community is sent into turmoil. The residents of Unholy Island have secrets and they intend to keep them.

When Luke stumbles across one of the islanders dead on the shore, he finds himself under suspicion, made worse by his own troubles washing up on the tide.

Esme is drawn to Luke, but she doesn't trust her own instincts. That's not ideal for a witch - especially when there is a killer on the loose and a storm is rolling in...

The Ward Witch is the first book in a brand new contemporary fantasy series from the bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter.

*The Ward Witch is set in the same world as the urban fantasy mystery books, Crow Investigations, but it is the start of a separate series and can be enjoyed independently.

Praise for the Crow Investigations Series:

'I'm a huge fan!' Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels

'My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!'

Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled

'The Lydia Crow books are a firm favourite of mine, combining intriguing crime fiction with a hint of other-worldly mysticism. The characters are brilliantly drawn, and Sarah Painter cleverly makes them believable despite them having magical powers - or even being dead. With just enough comedy to make the dark bits even darker, and the perfect amount of mystery, these books are a wonderful read.' Kerry Barrett

12.99 In Stock
The Ward Witch

The Ward Witch

by Sarah Painter
The Ward Witch

The Ward Witch

by Sarah Painter

Paperback

$12.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Mysterious, magical, and a little bit deadly... Welcome to Unholy Island.

Esme Gray runs the guest house and tends to the ethereal wards that protect the island. She's sheltering from a terrible past and will do anything to stay safely hidden.

Luke Taylor has been searching for his missing twin for months, but has begun to believe that his brother might be dead. With his hope in tatters, a tip off leads him to a remote tidal island in the North Sea. It's further out than the famous Holy Island, and far stranger.

Visitors shouldn't be able to stay for more than two nights, so when Luke breaks this rule, the close-knit community is sent into turmoil. The residents of Unholy Island have secrets and they intend to keep them.

When Luke stumbles across one of the islanders dead on the shore, he finds himself under suspicion, made worse by his own troubles washing up on the tide.

Esme is drawn to Luke, but she doesn't trust her own instincts. That's not ideal for a witch - especially when there is a killer on the loose and a storm is rolling in...

The Ward Witch is the first book in a brand new contemporary fantasy series from the bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter.

*The Ward Witch is set in the same world as the urban fantasy mystery books, Crow Investigations, but it is the start of a separate series and can be enjoyed independently.

Praise for the Crow Investigations Series:

'I'm a huge fan!' Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels

'My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!'

Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled

'The Lydia Crow books are a firm favourite of mine, combining intriguing crime fiction with a hint of other-worldly mysticism. The characters are brilliantly drawn, and Sarah Painter cleverly makes them believable despite them having magical powers - or even being dead. With just enough comedy to make the dark bits even darker, and the perfect amount of mystery, these books are a wonderful read.' Kerry Barrett


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781913676339
Publisher: Siskin Press
Publication date: 06/27/2023
Series: Unholy Island , #1
Pages: 290
Sales rank: 207,010
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.72(d)
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews