The Way of Forgiveness: A Story About Letting Go

The Way of Forgiveness: A Story About Letting Go

by Stephen Mitchell


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 10


A unique and special kind of masterpiece.” —John Banville

In the tradition of The Alchemist—a fable about the soul's journey to hope, healing, and forgiveness

Now available in paperback

In The Way of Forgiveness, the distinguished writer and translator Stephen Mitchell provides a stirring account of the power and wisdom of forgiveness.

Based on the biblical story of Joseph and his brothers—a beautiful, brilliant, arrogant young man is sold into slavery but eventually rises to become viceroy of Egypt—The Way of Forgiveness is a riveting expansion, lush with vivid characters and a captivating sense of place. What’s new here is the lyrical, witty, vivid prose, informed by a wisdom that brings fresh insight to this foundational legend of betrayal and all-embracing forgiveness.

Mitchell’s retelling interweaves the narrative with brief meditations that, with their Zen surprises, expand and illuminate the main themes. The engrossing tale that he has created will capture the hearts and minds of modern readers and show them that this ancient story can still challenge, delight, and astonish.

The Way of Forgiveness is the paperback edition of Joseph and the Way of Forgiveness.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250239891
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/15/2020
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 541,364
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.27(h) x 0.74(d)

About the Author

Stephen Mitchell was born in Brooklyn in 1943, educated at Amherst, the Sorbonne, and Yale, and de-educated through intensive Zen training. His many books include the bestselling Tao Te Ching, Gilgamesh, The Gospel According to Jesus, The Book of Job, The Second Book of the Tao, The Selected Poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke, Bhagavad Gita, The Iliad, The Odyssey, and Beowulf. He is also the co-author of three of his wife Byron Katie’s bestselling books.

Table of Contents

I: The Favorite Son
II: Judah and Tamar
III: In Potiphar's Palace
IV: Viceroy of All Egypt
V: Joseph Reveals Himself
VI: The Way of Forgiveness

Notes and References

Customer Reviews