The Wrong Man (Jason Kolarich Series #3)

The Wrong Man (Jason Kolarich Series #3)

by David Ellis

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425251942
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 12/04/2012
Series: A Jason Kolarich Novel Series , #3
Pages: 528
Sales rank: 252,451
Product dimensions: 4.20(w) x 7.40(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

David Ellis is the coauthor of Guilty Wives, written with James Patterson. His previous thrillers include Breach of Trust, The Hidden Man, Eye of the Beholder, In the Company of Liars, Jury of One, Life Sentence, and Line of Vision, for which he won the Edgar® Award. An attorney from Chicago, he currently serves as counsel to the Speaker of the Illinois House of Representatives, and served as the House Prosecutor who convicted Governor Rod Blagojevich in the impeachment trial before the Illinois Senate.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“David Ellis’s pages throb with action and suspense.” —James Patterson
“Ellis [writes] solid, entertaining, well-crafted novels about crime and passion and greed in the tradition of Scott Turow and John Grisham.” —Chicago Tribune
“Ellis has created an iron-willed, unbreakable character who can take the novelist’s best punch and come back for more.”—Chicago Sun-Times

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wrong Man 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
mikedraper on LibraryThing 7 months ago
A homless Iraq veteran is accused of killing a young paralegal girl. The vet's aunt hires attorney Jason Kolarich to defend him.The man suffers from PTSD and won't say anything in his defense so Jason has to try to come up with a defense. Nothing seems to be working and the judge is not giveing him any leeway. Then he considers what if this was actually something to do with the girl. He and his team begin to look at all the cases she had done legal work for.A parallel story tells of a group of men who begin to purchase companies that sell fertilizer and other ingredients that could be used for legal means but could also be used illegally, with drastic consequences.As the trial commences, things happen and Jason has to try to get other officials to believe his point of view before something happens.It's a very clever plot and I don't want to say too much and spoil it. Nevertheless, let me say that the author was very creative and has written a very good story.
qstewart on LibraryThing 7 months ago
This my introduction to David Ellis and his work. I look forward to reading more of his legal thrillers. I found the book complex but at the same time easy to read and extremely difficult to put down. It seems to be a story off of the evening news and is very believable in today's world.The story starts with the death of a paralegal on her way home and evolves into a terrorist threat. Jason Kolarich becomes the attorney for an Iraqi veteran who has been accused of the crime and he does not communicate well with anyone since he suffers from flashbacks to his experiences in Iraq. As Kolarich and his team search for a possible defense and have motion after motion denied by a strict judge they begin to wonder if there was something in the paralegal's past that may have led to the shooting, not the robbery that the veteran is accused of in what appears to be an open and shut case for the prosecution. As the team works they begin to see that there is more to the case then first meets the eye. The book is full of twists and turns right up to the end and is a very good read. I believe readers of this book will begin to look for others by David Ellis. I know I will. Very interesting and exciting to read.
woodsathome on LibraryThing 7 months ago
The Wrong Man is David Ellis's latest legal thriller in his Jason Kolarich series. The premise for this one is seemingly straightforward - in a moment of weakness Kolarich agrees to take the case of a homeless vet accused of killing a young paralegal. What seems an open and shut case (the vet confessed) of PTSD soon devolves into a twisted tale of mob hitmen (or assassins) and homegrown terrorists. The writing is fast-paced and the twists keep coming. Great literary fiction? No. Everything you want from a legal thriller? Without a doubt. Highly recommend.
njstitcher on LibraryThing 7 months ago
This is the first book I've read by this author. I did not realize it was part of a series or I probably would not have selected it. I was halfway through before I realized. Often when you start reading a volume mid series, not having the back story can impede your understanding of the book. That was not the case with this one. It was an exciting story, a little slow in the beginning but once it got going I read it straight through without stopping. Without giving away the very ending, I did not see that one coming. There was a good balance between courtroom procedural and the action outside the courtroom. I enjoyed this very much - enough to go find the first two books.
tlryan1 on LibraryThing 7 months ago
I was grabbed by immediately at the first chapter of this book with the murder of a young woman. Soon a homeless Iraqi war vet, suffering from PTSD, is charged with the murder and Jason Kolarich signs on to defend him. Kolarich is a good guy and a very likeable protagonist and the story line kept me guessing. This is the third in the Kolarich series, but a reader can jump right in without having read the others. I will go back and read the first two and look forward to many more in this series. Jason and the supporting cast are interesting, the storyline kept me guessing, and the pacing of the book is very fast. I would definitely recommend this for summer reading and for fans of Vince Flynn or Harlan Coben.
auntmarge64 on LibraryThing 7 months ago
Another winner for suspense writer and prosecutor Ellis, who successfully impeached Governor Rod Blagojevich. This is the third in the Jason Kolarich series blending suspense and courtroom drama, and Ellis sure knows how to plot and pace a thriller. Here Kolarich defends a homeless vet accused of gunning down a young woman to rob her. He's found with the gun and her belongings, and it seems to be a slam dunk win for the state. However, there a few too many inconsistencies and as the defense tries to find a way to get the vet off on insanity they begin to sense he may actually be innocent. Pick this up and you'll be sleepless before you're able to put it down.
she_climber on LibraryThing 7 months ago
I was so excited to receive an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. I have loved the previous two Jason Kolarich books and this one did not disappoint. A page-turner to the very end. Ellis is a whiz at character building, I love them all....even if I don't trust them. This story had mutliple storylines but all as possible scenarios to answer the whodunit question when Kolarich's client, a PSTD rattled, schizophric Iran War Vet is accused of murder.
frogprof on LibraryThing 7 months ago
I, too, received The Wrong Man as an Early Reviewers' giveaway, not knowing that it was third in a series. That didn't stop me from thoroughly enjoying the book, however, as the book can stand on its own. Jason Kolarich is hired by the defendant's aunt to represent her homeless-vet nephew who's accused of murder. Jason takes the case, despite the fact that the vet is more or less catatonic and unable to help with his own defense [the judge in the case makes some pretty lame rulings about mental illness and Jason's defense tactics, IMHO]. Along the way we run into some pretty shady characters who may or may not have been involved in the murder. There's a twist at the end that I only saw coming about 2 pages before it happened, and I like being surprised like that.I'm definitely going to look for the preceding books in the series!
KLTMD on LibraryThing 7 months ago
David Ellis has written a very good story in "The Wrong Man." Defense attorney Jason Kolarich is asked to handle the case of a schizophrenic Iraqi war vet accused of murder, robbery and running from the police. Open and shut. Except for the loose string that allows Kolarich to unravel the frame in which the vet has been placed. Kolarich is also being harassed by members of the Mob and corporate Chicago. And that's where the thread is found, by the very disparate nature of his opposition. The book, overlaid with a romantic filigree which gradually becomes more and more central to the case, is a good example of a first rate mystery--nasty villains, appealing second tier characters and a sympathetic victim.
cal8769 on LibraryThing 7 months ago
Jason Kolarich is approached by the aunt of an Iraq war vet who is accused of a random murder but is unable to participate in his defense due the mental trauma and PTSD. The more Jason is pulled into the case the more secrets he uncovers.This is the third book in the Kolarich series and I am eager to read the next. Ellis does a great job of creating mystery and suspense without seeming contrived. There are surprises around every corner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Solid book, fun with likable characters. Plot is interesting though not clever. Characters are a bit underdeveloped / two dimensional.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has mind-grabbing plot. Most of the situations and dialogue worked well for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
timetravel More than 1 year ago
How does a lawyer defend a man that can’t or won’t defend himself? When Tom Stoller, a homeless Iraqi war vet suffering from PTSD, is accused of murder, Jason Kolarich takes on his defense. His defense is complicated by the fact that his client won’t talk and statements at the time of arrest appear to be a confession. Jason is a bulldog of a lawyer that doesn’t rest until he finds the best way to defend his client, especially when he starts to believe that Tom may be innocent. Although The Wrong Man is book three of a series, it is very much a stand-alone story. I never felt I needed to know some back story to fully understand what was happening. It did have some problems that put me off a little. There were certain surprise twists in the story that were not much of a surprise for me. Also, the way he incorporated a girlfriend into his work life was odd. I did enjoy reading the book and I would still recommend it to those who like legal mystery/thrillers.
bmak More than 1 year ago
A great read...lots of twists and turns!