The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World-and Globalization Began

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World-and Globalization Began

by Valerie Hansen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

*A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice*

From celebrated Yale professor Valerie Hansen, a “vivid” and “astonishingly comprehensive account [that] casts world history in a brilliant new light” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and shows how bold explorations and daring trade missions first connected all of the world’s societies at the end of the first millennium.

People often believe that the years immediately prior to AD 1000 were, with just a few exceptions, lacking in any major cultural developments or geopolitical encounters, that the Europeans hadn’t yet reached North America, and that the farthest feat of sea travel was the Vikings’ invasion of Britain. But how, then, to explain the presence of blond-haired people in Maya temple murals at Chichén Itzá, Mexico? Could it be possible that the Vikings had found their way to the Americas during the height of the Maya empire?

Valerie Hansen, an award-winning historian, argues that the year 1000 was the world’s first point of major cultural exchange and exploration. Drawing on nearly thirty years of research, she presents a compelling account of first encounters between disparate societies, which sparked conflict and collaboration eerily reminiscent of our contemporary moment.

For readers of Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens, The Year 1000 is a “fascinating…highly impressive, deeply researched, lively and imaginative work” (The New York Times Book Review) that will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about how the modern world came to be.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501194122
Publisher: Scribner
Publication date: 04/14/2020
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 317,436
File size: 84 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Valerie Hansen is the Stanley Woodward Professor of History at Yale University, where she teaches Chinese and world history.  An accomplished scholar and author, she traveled to nearly twenty countries to conduct research for The Year 1000. She is also the author of The Silk Road: A New History and The Open Empire.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One: The World in the Year 1000

Table of Contents

Author's Note xi

Prologue 1

1 The World in the Year 1000 9

2 Go West, Young Viking 27

3 The Pan-American Highways of 1000 53

4 European Slaves 81

5 The World's Richest Man 113

6 Central Asia Splits in Two 143

7 Surprising Journeys 171

8 The Most Globalized Place on Earth 199

Epilogue 227

Acknowledgments 237

Want to Learn More? 241

Notes 247

Illustration and Photograph Credits 289

Index 291

Customer Reviews