The Zen Revolution

The Zen Revolution

by Won Il

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Author Won Il, a Kwan Um/Chogye Zen monk, gives a startling account of the path of Zen in a muscular prose in the tradition of Henry Miller and Hunter S. Thompson.

"The American spirit of self-reliance goes hand in hand with the mystical tradition of Zen - yet it hasn't found its own bare wire. The best revolution, and the domain of the Zen adept, is an inner one."

The Zen Revolution reads like a novel, each compelling chapter revealing another nuance; the whole gamut, from origin to fiery culmination. Delving into both the spiritual and worldly aspects with equal candor, The Zen Revolution takes on the basic question of existence, perhaps the most important question we face. There's a new adventure in every chapter, leading to an eventual breakthrough - something nearly unheard of in the Zen literature of the West.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148182689
Publisher: Henry Grevemberg
Publication date: 08/10/2010
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 210
File size: 768 KB

About the Author

Won Il, born Henry Grevemberg, was raised on an inhospitable tract of land of Louisiana bottomlands. He developed his writing style on this unfortunate landscape, a prose that breathes and plods endlessly like the black waters of his youth. He began practicing Zen on his own at the age of 21, a discipline that pulled him from the muddy swamp to study in many centers across America and Korea, where he passed both the kyoyuk, a very difficult boot camp for the ordination of novice monks in the Chogye order of Korea, and the 10 gates of Zen Master Seung Sahn (1927-2004). A Zen monk in the Kwan Um lineage, he continues training in both the Kwan Um and Chogye orders.

Customer Reviews