Thornlight

Thornlight

by Claire Legrand

Narrated by Billie Fulford-Brown

Unabridged — 8 hours, 42 minutes

Thornlight

Thornlight

by Claire Legrand

Narrated by Billie Fulford-Brown

Unabridged — 8 hours, 42 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$24.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $24.99

Overview

“Magical.”-Kirkus Reviews

Resourceful twin sisters and a desperate queen must find a new source of magic to stop their kingdom from being consumed by darkness. This classic fantasy-adventure from bestselling author Claire Legrand is full of twists, turns, and unforgettable moments. Thornlight is a must-have for fans of Tahereh Mafi and Diana Wynne Jones.

A stand-alone companion to the acclaimed Foxheart.

Centuries and centuries ago, the Vale was split in two in a war between witches. Ever since, an evil darkness has been climbing, climbing, climbing out of the Break, infecting everything it touches. The people of the Vale fight it with discs made of lightning-and with an ancient spell. Brier Skystone is the youngest, most talented lightning harvester the Vale's ever seen. Her twin sister, Thorn, is a sensitive artist who's braver than even she knows. And young Queen Celestyna Hightower is determined to be Mender of the Break, the last of her family to bear the weight of anchoring the spell-which is really more of a curse.

As the darkness keeps coming, these three girls will each undertake their own perilous journeys to try to save their home-and each quest reveals an electrifying surprise. Perhaps they've been fighting the wrong monster all along.

New York Times-bestselling author Claire Legrand creates an intricate and layered world full of unicorns, witches, mistbirds, grifflets, and unlikely heroes-with an appearance by the legendary witch Quicksilver Foxheart. This stand-alone companion to Foxheart explores what it means to be brave, and the destructive force of war on nature and community

Fast-paced, memorable, and surprising, Thornlight is a perfect introduction to Claire Legrand's work and will appeal to fans of Kelly Barnhill and Jessica Townsend.


Editorial Reviews

MAY 2021 - AudioFile

Narrator Billie Fulford-Brown establishes an energetic voice for 12-year-old Thorn, a humble street sweep. Thorn lives in the Vale, a war-torn realm where harvesting lightning is crucial to powering the weapons used to fight its ever-threatening enemy. Thorn’s twin sister, Brier, in contrast, is one of the queen’s elite lightning harvesters. When Brier is attacked by lightning and a curse that haunts the queen comes to light, everyone must do their part. Fulford-Brown’s even pacing and passionate voice will keep listeners engaged as they enter this fantastical world and follow the determined characters who will stop at nothing to protect their home and each other. M.D. © AudioFile 2021, Portland, Maine

From the Publisher

Children must save a kingdom in a stand-alone companion to Foxheart. . . . The wicked Gulgot climbs ever closer to the top of the chasm, pushing darkness and evil before it. . . . Thorn may not recognize her own strength, but the many depictions of family, especially sisters, make it clear to readers that the gentle heart is the stronger one. Luscious writing and magical moments.” — Kirkus Reviews

“The Break, a deep chasm that splits the realm of the Vale in half, is becoming unstable lately, and the monstrous Gulgot that lives within it will soon make its way to the surface. . . . Readers of Legrand’s Foxheart will see familiar faces here, but knowledge of that book isn’t required. . . . The book’s message is a worthy one: ‘It is no small thing, to have a gentle heart.’” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Twelve-year-old twin sisters Brier and Thorn . . . live in war-torn Vale. Their soldiers battle a monster, Gulgot, who dwells in an ever-widening chasm. . . . LeGrand’s story features loving siblings with very different personalities, setting up a familiar dynamic for children. The peril always seems real, evoked fully as the author switches from Thorn’s to Brier’s to Celestyna’s to the Gulgot’s internal thoughts. . . . [An] edgy, intricate fantasy.” — School Library Journal

“Brier and Thorn Skystone are twin sisters . . . [and] answer to young Queen Celestyna, who was named to be the savior of the Vale, though that seems less and less likely as the days pass and a monster called the Gulgot strains to be released from his subterranean prison. . . . Can the three girls work together against the Old Wild magic, or is all lost? . . . This middle-grade fantasy is fun for younger teen readers, especially those who loved her Foxheart.” — Booklist

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

The Break, a deep chasm that splits the realm of the Vale in half, is becoming unstable lately, and the monstrous Gulgot that lives within it will soon make its way to the surface. . . . Readers of Legrand’s Foxheart will see familiar faces here, but knowledge of that book isn’t required. . . . The book’s message is a worthy one: ‘It is no small thing, to have a gentle heart.’

Booklist

Brier and Thorn Skystone are twin sisters . . . [and] answer to young Queen Celestyna, who was named to be the savior of the Vale, though that seems less and less likely as the days pass and a monster called the Gulgot strains to be released from his subterranean prison. . . . Can the three girls work together against the Old Wild magic, or is all lost? . . . This middle-grade fantasy is fun for younger teen readers, especially those who loved her Foxheart.

Booklist

Brier and Thorn Skystone are twin sisters . . . [and] answer to young Queen Celestyna, who was named to be the savior of the Vale, though that seems less and less likely as the days pass and a monster called the Gulgot strains to be released from his subterranean prison. . . . Can the three girls work together against the Old Wild magic, or is all lost? . . . This middle-grade fantasy is fun for younger teen readers, especially those who loved her Foxheart.

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

The Break, a deep chasm that splits the realm of the Vale in half, is becoming unstable lately, and the monstrous Gulgot that lives within it will soon make its way to the surface. . . . Readers of Legrand’s Foxheart will see familiar faces here, but knowledge of that book isn’t required. . . . The book’s message is a worthy one: ‘It is no small thing, to have a gentle heart.’

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

The Break, a deep chasm that splits the realm of the Vale in half, is becoming unstable lately, and the monstrous Gulgot that lives within it will soon make its way to the surface. . . . Readers of Legrand’s Foxheart will see familiar faces here, but knowledge of that book isn’t required. . . . The book’s message is a worthy one: ‘It is no small thing, to have a gentle heart.’

School Library Journal

04/01/2021

Gr 5–8—Twelve-year-old twin sisters Brier and Thorn, who have pale skin and brown eyes, live in war-torn Vale. Their soldiers battle a monster, Gulgot, who dwells in an ever-widening chasm. With unicorn Noro, Brier harvests lightning for weapons, but is burned, and Thorn, a street sweep, assumes her identity and accepts the Queen's order to find more lightning. On her journey, Thorn discovers the lightning is actually trapped stormwitches like her new friend, Zaf, who has pale skin and white hair. While Thorn and Zaf recruit help, Brier realizes her work imprisoned witches and she repents. Queen Celestyna, meanwhile, has made a dark bargain with a witch in a desperate attempt to stop the evil encroachment. Witches, soldiers, and Vale citizens are described with various skin tones including pale, brown, and black. Thorn and Brier each play a role in establishing peace. LeGrand's story features loving siblings with very different personalities, setting up a familiar dynamic for children. The peril always seems real, evoked fully as the author switches from Thorn's to Brier's to Celestyna's to the Gulgot's internal thoughts. The dark Chasm and the black, boglike infection that spreads from it are well delineated with multisensory writing. Numerous place names, plot threads, and origin stories make for confusing world building. Some elements are intense and morally complex. It's important to find the right reader for a story where several children murder other humans and witches. VERDICT An additional purchase where readers relish edgy, intricate fantasy.—Caitlin Augusta, Stratford Lib. Assoc., CT

MAY 2021 - AudioFile

Narrator Billie Fulford-Brown establishes an energetic voice for 12-year-old Thorn, a humble street sweep. Thorn lives in the Vale, a war-torn realm where harvesting lightning is crucial to powering the weapons used to fight its ever-threatening enemy. Thorn’s twin sister, Brier, in contrast, is one of the queen’s elite lightning harvesters. When Brier is attacked by lightning and a curse that haunts the queen comes to light, everyone must do their part. Fulford-Brown’s even pacing and passionate voice will keep listeners engaged as they enter this fantastical world and follow the determined characters who will stop at nothing to protect their home and each other. M.D. © AudioFile 2021, Portland, Maine

Kirkus Reviews

2021-01-26
Children must save a kingdom in a stand-alone companion to Foxheart (2016).

In the Vale, a massive Break ripped the mountains from the now-lost lowlands. Now the wicked Gulgot climbs ever closer to the top of the chasm, pushing darkness and evil before it. Twelve-year-old, pale-skinned Brier is Westlin’s darling, riding her unicorn and capturing the lightning needed for the war; Thorn, her street-sweeping identical twin, cries easily and considers herself the shadow of her sister. But when lightning injures Brier, Thorn finds herself impersonating Brier on a perilous journey to find more ammunition to use against the Gulgot. While Thorn is the titular protagonist, the perspective shifts among both sisters as well as the 16-year-old Queen, Celestyna, and Cub, a mysterious creature orphaned by the Break. Thorn’s story comprises mostly rousing, if perilous adventure, a nascent lesbian crush, and some sad losses, but Celestyna’s arc concerns the royal curse that fights the Gulgot and contains violence at odds with the otherwise family-friendly story. Thorn may not recognize her own strength, but the many depictions of family, especially sisters, make it clear to readers that the gentle heart is the stronger one. Luscious writing and magical moments notwithstanding, the complex moral questions make this suited to an older audience than the package would suggest. Illustrations not seen.

Troubling and moving in equal measure. (map) (Fantasy. 12-14)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176320978
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 04/20/2021
Edition description: Unabridged
Age Range: 8 - 11 Years
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews