Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

by Lina Maslo

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23

Overview

A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia—from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White.

As a child, Clive Staples Lewis imagined many things . . .

heroic animals

and knights in armor

and a faraway land called Boxen.

He even thought of a new name for himself—at four years old, he decided he was more of a Jack.

As he grew up, though, Jack found that the real world was not as just as the one in his imagination. No magic could heal the sick or stop a war, and a bully’s words could pierce as sharply as a sword. So Jack withdrew into books and eventually became a well-known author for adults.

But he never forgot the epic tales of his boyhood, and one day a young girl’s question about an old family wardrobe inspired him to write a children’s story about a world hidden beyond its fur coats . . . a world of fauns and queens and a lion named Aslan. A world of battles between good and evil, where people learned courage and love and forgiveness.

A magical realm called Narnia.

And the books he would write about this kingdom would change his life and that of children the world over.

Share this magical nonfiction picture book at home or in the classroom.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062798565
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/19/2020
Pages: 48
Sales rank: 237,871
Product dimensions: 7.60(w) x 11.60(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Lina Maslo is the author and illustrator of Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala and Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia. She has a bachelor's degree in art from New College of Florida and resides in South Carolina with her husband and children. She can be found online at www.linamaslo.com.

Lina Maslo is the author and illustrator of Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala and Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia. She has a bachelor's degree in art from New College of Florida and resides in South Carolina with her husband and children. She can be found online at www.linamaslo.com.

Customer Reviews