Traitor Angels

Traitor Angels

by Anne Blankman

Hardcover

$16.68 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.68, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

A romantic and exhilarating historical adventure about a girl who must unlock the secrets within Paradise Lost to save her father—perfect for fans of Revolution and Code Name Verity—from acclaimed author Anne Blankman, whose debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens in 2015

Six years have passed since England’s King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects.

Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world—except by her father’s side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he’s training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom.

Until one night the king’s men arrive at her family’s country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father’s mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Viviani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is—but can she trust him with her heart?

When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost—a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal—Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life, or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father . . . and tear apart the very fabric of society.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062278876
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/03/2016
Pages: 400
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.60(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Anne Blankman is the acclaimed author of Prisoner of Night and Fog, which received a starred review and a Flying Start from Publishers Weekly. When Anne was twelve, she read Anne Frank's diary and has been haunted by World War II ever since. The idea for Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke came to her after she read about a real-life unsolved street assassination from January 1933, which was the inspiration for Monika Junge's murder. To research this book, she studied a wide range of sources, including biographies, memoirs, social histories, psychological profiles, old maps, photographs, and video footage.

Anne lives in southeastern Virginia with her husband, Mike, her young daughter, Kirsten, and, of course, lots and lots of books.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Traitor Angels 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I loved the idea of this, but I never got around to reading it. When I finally did, I'm sad to say I couldn't stay focused. Elizabeth is a okay MC. There were scenes where I thought she was overly dramatic, but that could have been the time period. I like Antonio well enough. I did enjoy the two of them coming from such opposite upbringings and bridging the gap to understanding. My main complaint is that the story seemed quite dense and dry. There were several pages {some times almost a full chapter} of text without dialogue and that sort of thing just makes me lose interest. I thrive on dialogue and witty banter. I made it about halfway before I started skimming and reading only certain sections. And while the reveal and ending were both interesting, it wasn't enough to make me want to go back and fully read what I had skipped. **Huge thanks to Balzer + Bray and Edelweiss for providing the arc in exchange for an honest review**
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman Publisher: Balzer + Bray Publication Date: May 3, 2016 Rating: 4 stars Source: eARC from Edelweiss Summary (from Goodreads): Six years have passed since England’s King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects. Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world—except by her father’s side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he’s training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom. Until one night the reason becomes clear: the king’s man arrive at her family’s country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father’s mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Vivani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is—but can she trust him with her heart? When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost—a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal—Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father…and tear apart the very fabric of society. What I Liked: I knew little about this book before reading it, but oh how I enjoyed it! I picked it up because I've had success with Blankman's books in the past; Prisoner of Night and Fog and Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke were fascinating historical fiction novels. I knew that this new books was also historical fiction, but for some reason, I had thought it was set during the Civil War! I hadn't read the synopsis, otherwise I would have known better. Clearly Michael Shaara's The Killer Angels was on my mind (great book, by the way). Anyway! Traitor Angels is set in 1667 England, and it deals with John Milton and Galileo Galilei. Elizabeth Milton is the third of four daughters of John Milton, a now-blind but once-notorious poet of England. Her father has always treated her differently from her sisters; she can speak, read, and write in many different languages, and she was well-taught in swordplay and self-defense. But most differently, her father trusts her to help him write Paradise Lost (she writes what he dictates). One day, all of her father's training comes to good use: her father has been arrested by the king's men. Elizabeth and her father's strange houseguest Antonio Vivani race across England to uncover her father's carefully hidden clues and secrets, in hopes that whatever he hid might be bartered to the king for his freedom. But what Elizabeth and Antonio discover is more dangerous than one man's life - it could mean the end of society as they know it. What a twisted tale! Well, not "twisted" like one typically means it, but it certainly was tricksy! One of the things I liked the most about this book was the endless clues and puzzles and word games there were in this book. Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)
ruthsic More than 1 year ago
Traitor Angels comes off as a historical Da Vinci Code, with Elizabeth Milton racing to find clues in a scavenger hunt devised by her father, about a secret coded into his masterpiece, Paradise Lost. She has been living a modest life with her blinded father, his new wife, and her three sisters, when one day an Italian scientist comes knocking. Soon after, their king sends out people to apprehend her father; she escapes and with the aforementioned Italian, sets out to figure out what secret was so damning that the king would be involved. On the journey, there is less hunting involved and more introspection. Having been raised a Puritan, she sees a new way of life and thinking when hunting with the scientist by her side. Antonio, though a Catholic, also reveres the natural philosophy that guides the world, in his mind. When they realize the secret, he doesn't shy away from the potential truth but shows her how it could be beneficial to the world. She, however, wants to save her father first, and can't immediately care about the truth. Her journey is from being a simple daughter to a person who wants to realize her dreams, who wants to study the natural world. While the story itself is quite good, and makes for an exciting read, the writing couldn't complement it well enough. Often, I would find myself skimming over paragraphs of needless exposition and description, even though they seemed slightly important in the former case, simply because they were superfluous. There was a lull towards the middle of the book in terms of pacing, and I was tempted to stall and pick up another book to get over it. In conclusion, I enjoyed it but I felt it could have been better edited, to lend more urgency to the plot and create the atmosphere which this book should have.