Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

by Francis Spufford

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense by Francis Spufford

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062300461
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/07/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 467,383
Product dimensions: 7.90(w) x 5.30(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Unapologetic: Why, despite everything, Christianity can still make surprising emotional sense 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago