Wahoo Rhapsody

Wahoo Rhapsody

by Shaun Morey

Paperback(Original)

$12.56 $13.95 Save 10% Current price is $12.56, Original price is $13.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Wahoo Rhapsody by Shaun Morey

Take one sea-loving captain, a drug-smuggling first mate, and a novice deckhand with a secret, and you have the motley crew of the Wahoo Rhapsody, a ramshackle fishing charter plying the Pacific’s waters off the coast of Cabo San Lucas. Captain Winston Weber makes an honest, if lean, living running fishing charters between Mexico and California, with no inkling of the fact that his first mate, Weevil Ott, is smuggling marijuana inside the yellowfin tuna stacked in the boat’s hold. But when Weevil decides to skim a small fortune for himself, goons under orders from the mysterious drug lord known only as “La Cucaracha” descend upon the Wahoo Rhapsody. What ensues is a madcap romp that will catapult readers from Cabo San Lucas to Tucson and San Diego, as Winston, Weevil, and an expat American lawyer by the name of Atticus Fish try to outrun La Cucaracha’s bloody reach. Fans of Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard will relish this rollicking satirical adventure from award-winning writer Shaun Morey.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781935597872
Publisher: Amazon Publishing
Publication date: 07/05/2011
Series: Atticus Fish Novel Series , #1
Edition description: Original
Pages: 294
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Shaun Morey is the author of the bestselling Incredible Fishing Stories series and a contributor to Sun magazine. He won the inaugural Abbey-Hill short-story contest and is a three-time winner of the Los Angeles Times novel-writing contest. Over the years, he has worked as a bartender, a fishmonger, a surf instructor, and an attorney, but he always comes back to writing.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wahoo Rhapsody 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Drewano 6 months ago
Wow what a fun tale. This story has great characters, a fun and zany plot and masterful storytelling. The author does a great job of taking a number of unique storylines and interweaving them into a great story. The characters are tons of fun and each have their own quirks which add to their hilarity. The writing is great as well. This book reminds me so much of Tim Dorsey and Carl Hiaasen, so if you’re a fan of those authors I highly recommend this book.
Jodi_Ann_Hanson More than 1 year ago
In Morey’s latest novel, we find Atticus Fish, a retired high profile lawyer who took on organized religion and won, living his life at a leisurely pace in Baja California. Atticus finds himself in the midst of a drug smuggling ring. Seems one of the crew working on his fishing charter boat, the Wahoo Rhapsody, has been smuggling drugs to pay off a hefty gambling debt. The Captain Winston Weber, who incidentally saved Fish’s life is unaware of the crew members betrayal, but is included as a target of the drug lord La Cucaracha—yes just like the song—along with the two other crew members on the boat. When Atticus Fish becomes aware of the hijacking of his boat, his missing friend and crew, he enlists the help of Skegs, a friend and salesman of bootleg tequila and sister-in-law Toozie, a private investigator to find his friend, the boat and the drug lord responsible. They race to clear their names with the drug lord before they are killed as collateral in lieu of the drugs. As Toozie works a lead in connection with the drug lord, she realizes Barnhouse—a crooked federal prosecutor with the hope of becoming Governor—has jumped on the arrest of La Cucaracha to use the publicity and gain election into office. Problem is the man who has been arrested is not La Cucaracha and the real drug lord is threatening Barnhouse to release the man. What a fun read! I found myself unable to put the book down once I picked it up finishing it in two sittings. Morey wows the reader with sub-plots tying the characters together in this caper. He keeps us guessing until the end throwing in a final twist the reader won’t expect. Reviewed by Jodi Hanson for Suspense Magazine