We Told Six Lies

We Told Six Lies

by Victoria Scott

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781640634220
Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC
Publication date: 02/05/2019
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 248,733
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, the Dante Walker trilogy, and Violet Grenade. She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen.

Victoria’s novel Titans received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood was selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers. www.victoriascott.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

We Told Six Lies 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
KelseyN 6 hours ago
It was a solid suspense/thriller story that kept me entertained. Jumping back and forth between past and present to tell the story of Molly and Cobain worked well enough, but I didn't love the second person POV for the past chapters. Although the final twist was a nice surprise and veered away from the super cliche ending I had expected, I can't say it satisfied me entirely because it's been done before in much the same way. Overall the book was an average read. Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars, Kara Thomas, or Lynn Weingarten.
HugsandKissesforBooks 6 days ago
Unputdownable! Thanks to Entangled for the opportunity to read and review We Told Six Lies by Victoria Scott! Cobain is being questioned at the police station. They’re trying to figure out what happened to Molly, who’s missing. Cobain declares his love for Molly and describes his relationship with Molly from the first day they spoke. Molly’s car has been found abandoned at a strip mall and no one knows why she had even been there. Cobain thinks to himself that he and Molly were going to run away together, but now she’s out there alone. Then the alternating points of view add Molly’s also, which builds the mystery even more intensely. The author’s descriptive language brings realism to the story and one of my favorite descriptions is “lollipops that tasted how Lysol smelled”, which made me laugh out loud because I remember suckers like that. Suspenseful, twisty and mysterious, We Told Six Lies was a read I couldn’t put down until I finished, 5 stars! *I received a complimentary copy of this book for voluntary review consideration and all thoughts and opinions are my own.
evilqueenreads 13 days ago
It’s not often that a book leaves me going ‘wtf’ even after I’ve finished it, but that’s exactly what happened here. Told in alternating POVs and alternating timelines, We Told Six Lies tells the story of Molly and Cobain’s relationship while he struggles to find her after Molly goes missing. Generally I don’t like the alternating timelines narrative in books, but here it just keeps adding to the suspension. Cobain is an unreliable narrator and with every detail that unfolds in either timeline he becomes more so. The nonlinear narrative supplements the disjointed thoughts in Cobain’s head and when he starts to doubt himself, so do you. And if you’re like me you’ll start to doubt him even before that. Every time I thought I knew what was going on, I had to second guess myself with the very next chapter. And I didn’t even get it right by the end of the book. I highly recommend We Told Six Lies if you like thrillers and mysteries. Yes, we’ve probably all seen this story line play out in other novels, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be done well again. And Victoria Scott does a fantastic job.
suekitty13 13 days ago
Pretty good mystery but a cringe-worthy romance I have mixed feelings about this one. The basic mystery was fairly interesting and I wanted to keep reading to find out what had happened to Molly and who was responsible. I love an unreliable narrator and in this case there were two, Molly and Cobain, both equally prone to lying and in Cobain’s case, misremembering. Unfortunately these characters were very unlikable. It seemed like they were both quite mentally ill and, especially in the case of Cobain, should have been in treatment of some kind. This romance felt wrong from the beginning with two sociopaths manipulating each other. This sounds much more interesting than it actually was. The relationship involved a lot of overly angsty, pseudo-poetic melodrama. Maybe as a teen I would have found this romantic but as an adult the whole thing just felt creepy, unhealthy and tedious. I'm not sure if the author intended the romance to be to be weird and disturbing or if she intended it to be passionate and swoony. It's is definitely the former. I realize this book is YA so maybe it will sit better with its target audience than it did with me. Thank you to Entangled: Teen Publishing for providing an Electronic Advance Reader Copy via NetGalley for review.
BeckyRendon 13 days ago
They told six lies but I will tell you a single truth... Everything about this book is intriguing, thought provoking, and going to have you guessing at every turn. If you want more truths: 1. Doubt will crush you. 2. Hope will crush you. 3. Fear will keep you on edge. 4. Molly isn't as innocent as she looks. 5. Cobain is truly a lost soul. 6. You may guess the ending, but probably not! We Told Six Lies made me question things, made me worry, and made me angry. I was angry at these parents. I was angry at the kids. I questioned everything including alibis. I questioned my gut feelings. The true sign of an awesome story is when you've been twisted and turned around and you start to question your motives...and you weren't even there. They told six lies. I'm suggesting that the only way to know the truth is to experience it for yourself.
kylieviolet 14 days ago
First, thank you so much to Entangled Publishing for providing me with a Digital Readers Copy of We Told Six Lies, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. The quotes included in this review are subject to change upon publication. The story dives straight into Cobain Kelly being interviewed by detectives on the disappearance of his girlfriend, Molly Bates. The story is told in three different timelines and two points of view. First we see there is a timeline of ‘Then’ and ‘Now’ narrated by Cobain, and we also get to hear Molly’s point of view in a ‘Now’ perspective. “I have to find out what happened to her, even if it breaks the last piece of my blackened, shattered heart.” As soon as I started reading the story, I was immediately drawn in. Victoria did not waste any time and took advantage of every second during the whole story and created a fast paced mystery of what happened to Molly Bates. As I slowly learned what was happening with Molly, I began to question Cobain’s sanity. There was one point in the story that I was starting to feel that Cobain had an unhealthy obsession with Molly, but then again she did disappear and he was desperate to find answers. “But desperate times called for monstrous resurrections.” Though Victoria did an amazing job of creating this whole storyline, her writing style wasn’t my favorite. I didn’t find her writing as lyrical as I’d like. However, she was very precise and direct, leaving little breadcrumbs as the story started to unfold and I started to put the pieces together. “The sadness you’re feeling fills this house. I’m drowning in it.” Overall, I think if you love mysteries I recommend this book to you, I did enjoy reading it and was totally shook when I started understanding who was involved in Molly’s disappearance.
onemused 14 days ago
"We Told Six Lies" is an engaging YA thriller. Cobain is an 18-year-old loner- he doesn't have any friends, and he is OK with that. There were some events in his childhood that we slowly get information about that led him to be a body builder without any set program. His size tends to keep most people at bay. Molly is different- she wants to get closer to him. They have been dating for a while when Molly disappears. Nothing seems to be adding up. The police keep questioning Cobain, but a letter is sent to her mother which implies that Molly left of her own free will. Cobain loves Molly and misses her constantly- he doesn't want the police to focus on him, because then they won't be finding Molly. He is unsure if she did run away- though the plan was to run together- or if something more sinister happened. Told in then and now perspectives, we slowly piece together the past and what is happening in the present. We later get more perspectives that paint a clearer picture- but we don't get the whole until the end. In terms of thrillers, this was really engaging and kept me easily page-turning and nail-biting until the end. While I had predicted a few things, there were definitely twists and turns I did not see coming- and I love to be surprised like that. This book is a great twisty read that will suck you in from the get-go. I recommend for lovers of YA thrillers! Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.