What's Broken Between Us

What's Broken Between Us

by Alexis Bass

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Overview

From Alexis Bass, author of Love and Other Theories, comes her heartbreakingly beautiful second novel, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk, killed his best friend, and paralyzed his girlfriend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again—whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062275356
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 12/29/2015
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 394,686
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Alexis Bass grew up in Washington, went to college in Arizona, and currently lives in Northern California, where she works in marketing. This is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

What's Broken Between Us 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Brooke-The-Cover-Contessa More than 1 year ago
I want to thank Harper Collins for providing me with a copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my opinion or review. I've recently really enjoyed contemporary YA reads. Throw in what is a forbidden love and I really need to read it! This was one of those books. My favorite part of this book were the characters. The plot was interesting but I really think it was the characters that got to me and made me want to keep reading. There's something about broken characters who need each other to heal. And this is made even more intense by watching those characters sneak around because what would the world think if they were seen together? Amanda and Henry are these characters. Amanda fights her brother's demons, takes them on as her own and feels guilty for the things he's done. And Henry has much hatred for Amanda's brother and for what he did to his sister. But neither Amanda nor Henry can seem to keep apart from each other. And. though it's an unexpected alliance, it works for them both. And then there's Amanda's brother, Johnathan. After spending a year in prison for killing one girl and severely injuring another, he is released. Amanda has hope that he will have healed and changed while in prison. But Jonathan just seems to be self-destructive. I almost felt as if Jonathan did the things he did to try and be sent back to jail. He had no filter for doing the wrong things. While he didn't outwardly seem repentant about the things he's done, I do think he harbors a ton of guilt over it. And I think this is why he's so determined to "get caught" doing the wrong thing. Overall, this is an emotionally charged read. A book that floats you though the ups and downs of a family that has fallen apart and is trying to piece itself together. And of a romance that helps both characters figure out what they need to do to heal and move on from the tragedy that has been introduced into their lives. Fans of Gayle Forman's writing will certainly enjoy this story.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
3 stars (liked it) Source: Harper Teen via Edelweiss Disclaimer: I received this book as an ARC (advanced review copy). I am not paid for this review, and my opinions in this review are mine, and are not effected by the book being free. I wanted to read what broken between us because I am drawn to the darker and have your contemporaries like this one. I wasn't sure if I sit with the focus was going to be on because the synopsis was a little bit make it mentions her brother who was the drunk driver in an accident that killed someone and left his girlfriend paralyzed. The main character was okay and I can understand her hardship and trying to deal with the school seeing her brother as the bad guy hearing them say that she deserved more time in prison and that there's a lot of focus on an interview that he did for TV where he sounded totally unrepentant. but at times I feel like she was just not like I didn't really get a big tip to the motion from her you know she would say that stuff made her upset that she had to put on this face for the public. Her brother Jonathan is definitely intriguing when he is let out of prison we see a young man who is broken who is sorrowful who is driving himself and alcohol still and he's trying to find his way back to some semblance of a real life he is trying to be close with his sister and he's just stuck in this pretty low place. I feel like in the beginning we get a lot of characters thrown at us and it's hard sometimes to keep them separate whenever I don't have a good feel for the main character. there is her best friend who is off at college, there's the girl grace who died, there Sutton who was Jonathan's girlfriend who was.injured. even more confusing is her boyfriend Graham and her I don't even know what to call him... Henry. They flirted back and forth a lot and I think that they used to have more of a connection but now she's with Graham but Henry continues to be in the story and it was kind of hard to figure out where he fit into everything. The cheating in this one bothered me, and wish that it would have been absent, because I don't think that it really added that much as far as character growth. The ending was well enough, but I wish that Jonathan would have made some different choices. Amanda had learned some things about herself and was on the way to make some decent changes as a result. Bottom Line: Liked it but had some issues.
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
Amanda is having trouble staying out of the spotlight ever since her brother, Jonathan, who made the terrible mistake of driving drunk one night, had a car accident that killed one friend and injured another. Everyone at school knows who Jonathan is, and Amanda constantly feels like her every move is being judged. She can’t cry when she wants for fear of someone thinking it’s an act. Even smiling is not allowed, due to her assuming that others are thinking she’s not taking the situation with her brother seriously. This poor girl, who just happens to be the sister of the talk of the town, is completely consumed with feelings and has no idea how to let them show. This group of characters was really great. Amanda, who makes her fair share of mistakes herself, felt like a very real and honest teenager to me. Some people who read this book may be bothered by her and her choices are times… but for me, I wasn’t bothered by her mistakes. Yes, I can honestly say they are not okay and I don’t agree with them… but they happen. In real life, people make mistakes. Everyone. So this isn’t something that would take away from the story for me. It actually added to its realistic attributes and made more of an impact on me. “I killed Grace Marlamount, Sutton will never walk on her own again, and, here you all are, still giving me the benefit of the doubt.” There’s lying, cheating, underage drinking, and other bad behaviors… but that’s what this story is all about. These are teenagers, and they’re making honest mistakes. A lot of them, actually. This isn’t only about these teenagers and their mistakes though. It’s a realistic look at what a family goes through in hard times… whether it be the family of the boy had made the drunken mistake and killed his friend and injured others, or the families of the ones that were injured as a result of his lapse in judgment, these families are all struggling, and it affects them each in a very different way. “I’ve become the kind of girl who lies to her best and only real friend.” My one complaint about this story, which kept me from giving it a higher rating, was the ending. It felt much too abrupt and open-ended. I know a lot of books tend to end like this, but I felt like it was missing something. It needed more. Overall, another great read from Alexis! I enjoyed this one even more than her debut, which was also quite interesting. If you’re looking for a stark look at real teenagers making mistakes and growing from them, this is a wonderful coming-of-age story that can definitely benefit its readers. (Thanks to HarperTeen for the review copy!)
gaele More than 1 year ago
What’s Broken Between Us from Alexis Bass is a story laden with regrets, what-ifs and bad choices. For me, I found some decisions by the characters are pure selfishness, while others were tinged with youth, carelessness and even some bravado. What emerged for me was a story that was an ‘all or nothing’ response: I either loved or hated the characters (some flip-flopped from one to the other), empathy varied from hurting for them to actually thinking some of the responses were justified, but no matter the emotional tumult, this is a story that forces you to think. Amanda is trying to move forward after her brother’s drunken escapade resulted in the death of his girlfriend and the maiming of another girl, all while living in the same small town. Of course there is judgment and questions from everyone, but dealing with those questions and finding answers to her own questions about her brother’s behavior before, during and after the accident. A difficult girl to find sympathetic, her own dysfunctional history (and family) seem to feed into this spiral of bad choices followed by thought and attempts to change/adjust after consequences hit. Henry has his own issues, with a sister who now lives with the consequences of Amanda’s brother’s accident, and his apparent lack of remorse (especially after an interview that showed him as callous and cold) makes their budding relationship problematic. And, Amanda is having honesty issues: taking responsibility, learning to think then act and not the reverse. Quite an interesting pairing that will give readers plenty to think about and consider: both characters voices seem to compete and contrast with elements that are solidly understandable and wholly unimaginable. Instead of graduation and the promise of youth sparking potential, often these characters were mired in their bad decisions and behaviors from the past, and finding a way through the muck and mud that cluttered up potential was a task for both readers and characters in this story. I’m not completely convinced that it all worked for me, but I can’t stop thinking about the story so that’s certainly to the author’s credit. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.