Whiskey Store Live

Whiskey Store Live

by Tab Benoit


$9.49 $11.99 Save 21% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $11.99. You Save 21%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Whiskey Store Live

The tour to support 2002's Whiskey Store album featuring guitarists Jimmy Thackery and Tab Benoit is captured here in all of its raging six-string glory. Not just for those who own the studio album, this disc repeats six tracks, but they are overhauled and extended so radically (the title cut is nearly tripled in length to a nine-minute blowout), that it's far from a cash-generating retread. Although the formidable Double Trouble rhythm section stayed home, road tested Thackery's saxist Jimmy Carpenter jumps aboard, as does B-3 keyboardist Ken Faltinson, and both ignite the concert sparks substantially. Benoit, who takes the majority of the vocals, brings versions of classics like "I Got Loaded" and Otis Redding's "These Arms of Mine," as well as his own blistering "Bayou Boogie" to the set list, replacing a few of the less stellar songs from the studio effort. Thackery is also in top form, livening up Chicago shuffle-versions of Dylan's "Leopard Skin Pillbox Hat" and Percy Mayfield's "Strange Things Happen" -- the latter featuring a honking sax solo from Carpenter -- with his tough Strat attack and gritty vocals. Benoit's tighter Telecaster sound and Louisiana-tinged swampy singing offset Thackery's gruff barroom approach, and the dueling guitars complement each other even better than on the studio set. It's a rousing hour and 15-minute performance that displays each guitarist's strengths and approach. But more importantly, it shows how their differing styles can accent the music without overburdening it with meandering solos.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2004
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408358425
catalogNumber: 83584
Rank: 46957

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tab Benoit   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Jimmy Thackery   Guitar,Vocals
Mark Stutso   Drums
Darryl White   Drums
Ken Faltinson   Hammond Organ
Carl Dufrene   Bass
Jimmy Carpenter   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Percy Mayfield   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Mike Henderson   Composer
Jimmy Thackery   Composer,Cover Illustration
Tab Benoit   Composer,Cover Illustration
Lincoln Clapp   Engineer
Colin Linden   Composer
Kenny "Blue" Ray   Composer
Robert Woods   Executive Producer
Glenn Worf   Composer
Reese Wynans   Composer
Anders Osborne   Composer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Randy Labbe   Producer
Sean Benjamin   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews