Wicked Like a Wildfire

Wicked Like a Wildfire

by Lana Popovic

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic

“Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game

Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit—it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. 

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062436832
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/15/2017
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 216,416
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Lana Popović studied psychology and literature at Yale University and law at Boston University. She is a graduate of the Emerson College publishing and writing program and works as a literary agent with Chalberg & Sussman, specializing in YA. Her books include Wicked Like a Wildfire and Fierce Like a Firestorm.

Lana was born in Serbia and spent her childhood summers surrounded by the seaside and mountain magic of Montenegro. She lived in Bulgaria, Hungary, and Romania before moving to the United States, where she now calls Boston home, subsisting largely on cake, eyeliner, and aerial yoga. Visit Lana at www.lanapopovicbooks.com or follow her on Twitter @LanaPopovicLit.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wicked Like a Wildfire 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
jesserosecook More than 1 year ago
I loved the world of magic that Popovic created. The girls’ powers and those of their family are unique and awe-inspiring and the ending devastated me and left me yearning for the next (and final) book in the series. The villain is both lovely and evil. I love that the girls feel a pull towards her that influences their decisions, even as they want to save their mother and themselves. It gave the story depth and excitement, especially towards the end. The coming-of-age love stories were done beautifully. There is some non-graphic sex, so you may want to reserve this book for ages 15 and above. I like that the insta-lust couple has justification and ramifications rather than just being an instant couple. I enjoyed who the sisters fell in love with once both their eyes are opened to what’s going on. Overall, I thought this book was very well written. The story had darkness and light, mystery and magic. If you enjoy modern-day fantasy and witches, this novel is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hope the next book will be out soon!
YAandWine More than 1 year ago
WICKED LIKE A WILDFIRE is a beautifully-written and enchanting debut. Lana Popović's writing is full of gorgeous imagery and prose. Several times while I was reading this story, I found myself going back and re-reading paragraphs and even full pages just because the execution was so lovely. The magic system in this story is captivating. I loved how it manifested itself differently in Iris, Malina, and their mother, and it allowed for some truly spell-biding scenes that I won't soon forget. I adored Iris and Malina and many of the characters in this story. There are some incredible female characters, who I absolutely fell in love with, and I can't wait to see more of them in the next book in this series. I did have a bit of a hard time with the character of Iris and Malina's mother. She intentionally isn't written to be likable, which I understand. I just didn't feel that her motivations justified her actions. I enjoyed the plot of the story. I felt that it moved quickly with lovely bits of magic and romance sprinkled throughout. The romance in this novel was also so well-done. It was swoony and captivating and definitely complicated. Magical realism is one of my favorite genres, but I also feel that it would be a tough one to write. It is hard to continuously balance fantasy and reality while still maintaining the reader's suspension of disbelief. There were a few times when the magic in this story pushed that boundary for me a bit, but for the most part, I did find it to be beautiful and engrossing. I was very impressed by this debut novel and can't wait to see more of Popović's writing in the future.
ahyperboliclife More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars “Your beauty is a force, you know, a power all its own. It can be both sword and shield for you, and win you anything you want.” I love magical realism! Having read two really fantastic ones in the past month has reignited by love for this magically captivating genre. Wicked Like a Wildfire is an enchanting story of beauty, power, family, and love. Iris and Malina’s family has a history of manipulating or “gleaming” beauty into magical works of art. But their mother is adamant that they keep their abilities a secret, and above all, never fall in love. But when their mother is attacked, Iris and Malina must uncover family secrets that can change their lives forever. Things I Liked I absolutely loved the descriptive writing in the story. Each room, setting, food, smell, and perfume were all vividly described. It really highlighted the beauty in their world, and their appreciation of it. I thought it worked perfectly with their magic. I loved the magic and powers displayed in the story. They were so incredibly unique. I loved that the powers were related to beauty and beauty manipulations through the senses. It was so cool and created fantastic visuals for me. And I really love the family history we get in the last third of the book - it helped create a fuller world. I really like the different representations we got in the story. Iris and Malina are both half-Japanese. Luka and Nikoletta, their best friends, are Romany. Malina and Niko are in a wlw relationship. It was great to see some diversity in this magical story. I actually really loved all of the romantic relationships in the story. They are cute and adorable and so easy to root for. Even though they have been warned to never fall in love, the romances have emotion and history behind them that make them believable. I wasn’t actually sold on the sibling relationship between Iris and Malina until about the 65% mark, but once we hit there, the entire story elevated for me. You can clearly see the sisterly love between them. They are so devoted to one another and have some fantastic moments, including my favorite scene in the entire book. Things I Didn’t Like I didn’t like Jasmina at all. She was actually a pretty awful mom, who was physically and verbally abusive. Her relationship with Iris was especially combative and tense. I understand the motivations behind her actions, but I still didn’t like them. And I feel like we didn't get enough time with her for me to really connect with her. I personally found some of the chapter transitions, especially in the beginning, to be rather abrupt. They felt like they happened mid-scene. But once you hit the 30% mark, it really isn’t an issue anymore. The transitions were just not as seamless as I would have liked. This book had a slow start for me, but really picked-up around the 65% mark and truly captivated me from then on. I loved the development in Iris and Malina’s relationship, their growth individually and together. The romances, while not a major part, felt emotionally real and I really liked them. I loved the beauty and effervescent zeal the book had. The ending was also FANTASTIC - I got a real Hades and Persephone vibe that sets up the conclusion to this duology to be everything I could ever want. I received a copy of the book from Katherine Tegen Books in exchange for an honest review.