Wild Fire (Shetland Island Series #8)

Wild Fire (Shetland Island Series #8)

by Ann Cleeves

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Wild Fire is the much-anticipated final entry in Ann Cleeves's beloved Shetland series, which is now a hit television show starring Douglas Henshall.

"Nothing short of riveting."—Louise Penny on Blue Lightning

"Gripping from start to finish."Booklist

"Jimmy Perez is a fine creation."Peter Robinson

The betrayal of those closest burns most of all . . .

Hoping for a fresh start, an English family moves to the remote Shetland islands, eager to give their autistic son a better life.

But when a young nanny's body is found hanging in the barn beside their home, rumors of her affair with the husband spread like wildfire. As suspicion and resentment of the family blazes in the community, Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez is called in to investigate. He knows it will mean his boss, Willow Reeves, returning to run the investigation, and confronting their complex relationship.

With families fracturing and long-hidden lies emerging, Jimmy faces the most disturbing case of his career.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250124852
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 09/04/2018
Series: Shetland Island Series , #8
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 10,109
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

ANN CLEEVES is the multi-million copy bestselling author behind two hit television series—the BBC’s Shetland, starring Douglas Henshall, and ITV’s Vera, starring Academy Award Nominee Brenda Blethyn—both of which are watched and loved in the US. Her brand new Two Rivers series will launch in September 2019, with The Long Call.

Shetland is available in the US on Netflix, Amazon Video, Britbox, and PBS, and Vera is available on Hulu, Amazon Video, BritBox, and PBS.

The first Shetland novel, Raven Black, won the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel, and Ann was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger in 2017. She lives in the UK.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wild Fire (Shetland Island Series #8) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tidy ending to a good series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ann Cleeves, for those who don't know, has written two mystery series; both have been made into British TV shows and are available for streaming. One series features Vera Stanhope and is set in England; the other features Jimmy Perez and takes place in Shetland. I am very sad to say that Wild Fire brings the Shetland series of eight novels to a close. I will miss each and every regular in the books. The novels do not need to be read in order but I would recommend that you do so for maximum enjoyment. In this last case, Jimmy, Willow and Sandy try to solve two murders; one, a nanny/mother's helper and the other a "busybody" of the town. The reader gets to know two families well; each has children and has, consciously or not, made decisions around their parenting. These choices very much influence the course of events. Of course, Jimmy is a father too as is Duncan, another recurring character. How do they make their decisions about their caring for Cassie? Magnie, too, has a mother who was a particular kind of parent. Reading this novel, one realizes that there is subtext on the importance of "good enough" parenting and what can happen when children do not get what they need. As always, the author writes with a keen sense of place. The reader can feel the flames of the fire, the fog, the sea and the town. Some loose ends are tied up in this last book. While I wish these fictional friends well, I hope that perhaps Ann Cleeves will change her mind and keep writing about them. Highly recommended. Thanks to NetGalley, Minotaur and to Ann Cleeves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
whatsbetterthanbooks More than 1 year ago
Mysterious, precise, and atmospheric! In this latest novel by Cleeves, Wild Fire, we head back to Deltaness where DI Jimmy Perez finds himself immersed in the evidence collection and investigation into the murder of a local nanny whose childhood was marred by hardship and tragedy and whose recent past was full of unusual and strained relationships. The prose is intricate and deft. The characters are flawed, complex and intriguing. And the plot is a compelling, well crafted, police procedural full of suspects, clues, deduction, jealousy, obsession, manipulation, swirling emotions, secrets, familial drama, and murder. Wild Fire is the eighth and final novel in the Shetland Series, and even though it’s a little bittersweet to say goodbye to the characters we’ve come to know and love over these last eight novels, it is nevertheless a lovely way to solve one last case with the usual gang and to finally discover whether DI Perez and Chief Inspector Willow will finally get their happy-ever-after ending.
Ronnie293 More than 1 year ago
This is my first Ann Cleeves novel and I seem to have come in on the tail end as Wild Fire is the eighth and final novel in Cleeves’ Shetland series featuring DI Jimmy Perez. Wild Fire completes the second of Ann’s Shetland Quartets, The Four Elements following the original Four Seasons Quartet. The spin-off TV crime drama “Shetland” has now been signed up for season 5. I did wonder if I would find the characters difficult to connect with coming into the story at the end of the series but this book can easily be read as a standalone. There were occasional references of past events however nothing that prevented me from grasping the storyline. Wild Fire was an enjoyable, easy read featuring a compelling mystery which kept my focus throughout. I found I became swept up in the lives of the people of Deltaness. Helena, Daniel and their two children hoping to escape their busy London lives have moved to the quiet town of Deltaness located in the Shetland Islands. Malicious gossip and anonymous notes leave Helena wondering if they will ever be accepted in the community or will forever be the newcomers. When a young woman is found murdered in a barn on the newcomers’ land Perez’s first impression is this is to do with the family not being accepted but when a born and raised local is found murdered he must rethink his ideas and try to find out how these two people were linked. In true murder mystery style Cleeves gives out just enough information to have the reader believing anyone could have and had cause to murder the victims. The characters are well drawn from the newcomers to the island, that feel like they don’t quite fit in, to the bitter gossiper who feels the need to dissect everyone’s actions and spread malicious gossip. I actually thought I had the murderer pegged until my main suspect turned up as the next victim. To finish off the series Cleeves gives Perez’s life a major upheaval which has him contemplating where he wants his future to go. Many readers will be sad to see the end of DI Jimmy Perez and the Shetland series but I am happy to say I still have seven more books in the series to read and I’m eagerly looking forward to them. If you enjoy old-style murder mysteries this series is for you. * I received a copy from the publisher and chose to place a review.