Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
With All Your Heart: Living Joyfully through Allegiance to King Jesus

With All Your Heart: Living Joyfully through Allegiance to King Jesus

by Christine Hoover


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


Our hearts are made for unswaying allegiance to a king and a kingdom, a concept that Jesus talked about more than any other. Yet every day, the false kings of anxiety, approval, comfort, image, escape, power, accumulations, self-sufficiency, supremacy, and shame plot to reign over our hearts instead. Their lies about the true king are so subtle and insidious that we rarely recognize them, and we go on living with divided loyalties that stall our spiritual growth, infect our relationships, and hinder our witness.

If you want to find freedom from the forces vying for your heart, let Christine Hoover equip you for the fight. In this approachable yet provocative book, she helps you root out your own misplaced allegiances so that you can live wholly as a subject of the king who made and redeemed you.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780801094477
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/03/2020
Pages: 240
Product dimensions: 8.40(w) x 5.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Christine Hoover is a pastor's wife, mom of three boys, host of the By Faith podcast, and author of several books, including Searching for Spring: How God Makes All Things Beautiful in Time, Messy Beautiful Friendship, and From Good to Grace. Her work has appeared on Christianity Today, The Gospel Coalition, and For the Church. Originally from Texas, Christine and her family live in Charlottesville, Virginia, where they planted a church in 2008. Find her at her home online at

Table of Contents

Part 1 A King and a Kingdom

1 Broken Hearts 13

2 Behold Your King! 27

3 Receiving the Kingdom of God 39

4 Resisting the Kingdom of Self 53

Part 2 False Kings

5 Anxiety 75

6 Image 89

7 Control 107

8 Escape 123

9 Isolation 139

10 Approval 155

11 Comfort 177

Part 3 An Unshakeable Kingdom

12 To Kingdom Come 195

13 On Earth As It Is in Heaven 209

Acknowledgments 221

Notes 223

Customer Reviews