You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

by Daniela Lamas

Hardcover

$28.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

For readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.

Modern medicine is a world that glimmers with new technology and cutting-edge research. To the public eye, medical stories often begin with sirens and flashing lights and culminate in survival or death. But these are only the most visible narratives. As a critical care doctor treating people at their sickest, Daniela Lamas is fascinated by a different story: what comes after for those whose lives are extended by days, months, or years as a result of our treatments and technologies?

You Can Stop Humming Now, Lamas explores the complex answers to this question through intimate accounts of patients and their families. A grandfather whose failing heart has been replaced by a battery-operated pump; a salesman who found himself a kidney donor on social media; a college student who survived a near fatal overdose and returned home, alive but not the same; and a young woman navigating an adulthood she never thought she'd live to see — these moving narratives paint a detailed picture of the fragile border between sickness and health.

Riveting, gorgeously told, and deeply personal, You Can Stop Humming Now is a compassionate, uncompromising look at the choices and realities that many of us, and our families, may one day face.

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."-Atul Gawande, author of Being Mortal

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316393171
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 03/27/2018
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 562,430
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Daniela Lamas is a pulmonary and critical care doctor at the Brigham & Women's Hospital and faculty at Harvard Medical School. Following graduation from Harvard College, she went on to earn her MD at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons, where she also completed internship and residency. She then returned to Boston for her subspecialty fellowship. She has worked as a medical reporter at the Miami Herald and is frequently published in the New York Times. This is her first book.

Table of Contents

Introduction 3

1 You Can Stop Humming Now 11

2 Ten Percent 33

3 Life on Battery 65

4 Nightmares After the ICU 91

5 Emergence 111

6 Where the Bridge Ends 141

7 Networking for a Kidney 167

8 An Unexpected Adulthood 189

9 How It Begins 211

Afterword 231

Acknowledgments 243

What People are Saying About This

Richard Besser

“Daniela Lamas is the real deal. She combines a big heart, powerful intellect, and passionate dedication to her patients with the gifted writer’s ability to tell a compelling story. She sees the fundamental problems inherent in a health care system that has not fully considered the ethical implications of all that is now possible with high-tech medical care. Through her personal crusade to understand the impact of medical treatment on her patients’ lives, she challenges the notion that a longer life is necessarily a better life. I couldn’t put it down.”

Customer Reviews