Deja Who

Deja Who

4.5 2
by MaryJanice Davidson

View All Available Formats & Editions

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Undead novels comes a delightfully addictive new series about past lives and bad habits—and one woman paranormally predisposed to getting at the bottom of both. It’s her job.
You couldn’t arrest for murder someone who had killed in his last life. You couldn&rsquo


From the author of the New York Times bestselling Undead novels comes a delightfully addictive new series about past lives and bad habits—and one woman paranormally predisposed to getting at the bottom of both. It’s her job.
You couldn’t arrest for murder someone who had killed in his last life. You couldn’t bring a civil suit against such people, either. They could only be legally penalized for what they did this time around—and what a dark circus the legal system had been before that legislation passed! (It was still a dark circus, but perhaps not as dark.)  But you could spot them, and watch them. You could set traps for them.
Leah Nazir is an Insighter. Reincarnation is her business. But while her clients’ pasts are a mess, Leah’s is nothing short of tragedy. She’s been murdered. A lot. If left to that bitch, destiny, it’ll happen again. Leah wants to know who’s been following her through time, and who’s been stalking her in the present...
P.I. Archer Drake has been hired by Leah’s mother to keep an eye on her. But the more time he spends watching, the more he finds himself infatuated. Before long, he even finds himself agreeing to help find the person who wants her dead. Over and over again.
Now going full-on “rewind,” Leah hopes it can stave off the inevitable. After all, she’s grown fond of this life—and even fonder of nerdy Archer. But changing her pattern means finding out who her killer is today. And as Leah fears, that could be anyone she has come to know and trust. Anyone.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Davidson (Danger, Sweetheart) spins a suspenseful and witty series launch about two investigators: one a PI and one a psychic. In Davidson’s version of the present day, about 70% of people can remember some or all of their past lives, and psychic insighters can help others remember and deal with multiple incarnations. When Chicago insighter Leah Nazir grills people about their past lives, she often uncovers recollections of famous crimes. (Several of the characters are based upon actual historical criminals.) Leah’s estranged mother hires somewhat bumbling PI Archer Drake to tail Leah, and he promptly falls in love with her—even after she stabs him. Banter worthy of Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy ensues. But someone close to Leah is murdered, and she becomes the prime suspect, leaving readers wondering how Leah and Archer—and their romance—will survive this incarnation. The fantastical premise is easily carried by Davidson’s strong plotting, wry prose, and deft characterizations. Romance is in fairly short supply, mostly passed over in favor of past lives and kooky characters, but there’s plenty here for fans of wit and wonder. Agent: Evan Gregory, Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency. (Sept.)
From the Publisher
Praise for MaryJanice Davidson
“Delightful, wicked fun!”—Christine Feehan, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“No one does humorous romantic fantasy better.”—The Best Reviews
“[Her] adventures are laugh-out-loud entertainment.”—Fresh Fiction
“[Her] prose zings from wisecrack to wisecrack.”—Detroit Free Press
“Sexy, steamy, and laugh-out-loud funny.”—Booklist

Product Details

Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
Insighter Novel Series , #1
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

MaryJanice Davidson is the New York Times bestselling author of several books, most recently Undead and Unforgiven, Undead and Unwary, Undead and Unsure, and Undead and Unstable. With her husband, Anthony Alongi, she also writes a series featuring a teen weredragon named Jennifer Scales. MaryJanice lives in Minneapolis with her husband and two children and is currently working on her next book

Brief Biography

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Date of Birth:
Place of Birth:
Minot, North Dakota

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Deja Who 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 21 days ago
Barb-TRC 21 days ago
Deja Who by MaryJanice Davidson is the first book in her new Insighter series. It is my first book by Davidson, and I have admit it was interesting, at times fun, and also kind of confusing. The premise of the story is about Insighters, who have the ability to read people and the lives they lived in the past. It started off a bit wild, giving us a look at our heroine, Leah, who is a Insighter consultant that helps people face their current and past lives. It kind of threw me off, as she can see the lives of this one person, some being famous murderers. Leah’s job is to help them improve their lives and accept the past, especially those with nightmares. Enter our hero, Archer, who was hired to watch over Leah, by her mother. Archer, is a bit weird, but he quickly expresses his love for Leah. He is also the one person she cannot read. Leah herself, is in a predicament. In each of her lives, she keeps getting murdered, and is trying find the person who follows her into each life. Archer will join hands with Leah to find her killer, and stop him before he kills her again. It is difficult to write this review, as it really was a different type of read. I was also not used to Davidson’s snarky and funny dialogue , which was fun at times, and even annoying at times. I liked Leah and even Archer, though he was a bit quirky. What follows is an excellent story about finding her killer, and her falling in love with Archer. The last third of the book was exciting, with a good resolution. If you enjoy a different storyline that delves partly in the past, and fun snarky dialogue, then this would be a good series for you to try.