×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Disenchanted
     

Disenchanted

4.3 11
by Leigh Goff
 

See All Formats & Editions

A forbidden love. A dark curse. An impossible choice... Descended from a powerful Wethersfield witch, sixteen-year-old Sophie is struggling to hide her awkwardly emerging magic, but that's the least of her worries. When a dangerous thief tries to steal her mysterious heirloom necklace, she is rescued by the one person she's forbidden to fall for, a

Overview

A forbidden love. A dark curse. An impossible choice... Descended from a powerful Wethersfield witch, sixteen-year-old Sophie is struggling to hide her awkwardly emerging magic, but that's the least of her worries. When a dangerous thief tries to steal her mysterious heirloom necklace, she is rescued by the one person she's forbidden to fall for, a descendant of the man who condemned her ancestor to hang. He carries a dark secret that could destroy them both unless Sophie learns how to tap into the mysterious power of her diamond bloodcharm. She will have to uncover dark secrets from both of their families' wicked pasts and risk everything, including her soul to save them from a witch's true love curse, but it will take much more than that.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780992049096
Publisher:
Mirror World Publishing
Publication date:
06/01/2015
Pages:
266
Sales rank:
880,454
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
13 - 18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Disenchanted 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
MauraS More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this witch fantasy story. The characters are funny and real. The romance is sweet and challenging. The magic is fresh and the plot is surprisingly complex for a young adult book and I liked that. Love that the main character, a 16 year old girl, has a backbone and a heart. Highly recommend this one for teens and adults and look forward to future works by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed this read. Loved the magic, the romance, and the references to Romeo & Juliet.  Overall good read!
ReadersFavorite 3 months ago
Reviewed by Maureen Dangarembizi for Readers' Favorite Disenchanted by Leigh Goff follows the story of half-witch Sophie Goodchild. Sophie lives in Weathersfield, a town with a long history of persecuting witches, Salem style. Sophie does her best to keep her head down and remain inconspicuous. Unfortunately, it's not enough to keep Judge Mather from having witches' shops closed down or worse, them arrested. The coven is on the brink of turning to black magic and Sophie is in love with her enemy's son. Sophie is descended from Elizabeth Greensmith, who fell in love with a Mather. Elizabeth's sister murders her sister and places a true love curse on the Mather family. Tasked to break the ancient curse, Sophie must overcome her hatred of the Mathers in order to free them all. For years the Mathers and the witches have distrusted and hated each other. The heroine thought the only ones with a problem were the Mathers, until she met Alexavier. She was just as suspicious and prejudiced as the judge. Love really did conquer all in this book to overcome fear and hatred. If you don't make the effort to bring about change, no one else will. Sophie's growth as a character plagued by fear and eventually into a fearless heroine willing to do whatever it took to break a curse was beautiful to read. The emotion between Sophie and Alexavier Mather was very real, and their fight to stop history from repeating itself is fraught with danger. This is a lovely book. If you're into Romeo and Juliet type romance, this is a book for you.
ZM21 More than 1 year ago
Charmingly witty
bf7 More than 1 year ago
I went to B&Ns teen book fest last month and bought this book there. I got to meet the author who signed it (in purple ink with a cool note) and gave me background info on the story which was awesome and made me really want to read it. I finished it in a few days and...loved it! The main girl is super nice and relatable and the guy is wicked hot. The kissing parts were amazing and the magic was original. There's also a lot of exciting scenes in the story and times when I didn't know what was going to happen to the girl. I def told my book nerd friends about this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
T_K215 More than 1 year ago
A great witch fantasy and I don't usually like YA. This one was well-written and well worth the money spent. Looking forward to re-reading it with a cup of herbal "witch" tea.
LaceyA More than 1 year ago
Loved this fantasy novel. Very creative and magical. Sort of a Twilight with witches and set in New England rather than Forks.
Amanda_Miller More than 1 year ago
This one follows in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet. Two young people on the opposite sides of a massive feud, struggling with a love that could destroy them.  For anyone who knows of my obsession with Shakespeare, it shouldn't come as any surprise that I really enjoyed this book. Now, I don't want anyone mistaking my meaning here. While this story does have some of the elements present in Romeo and Juliet, it is also vastly different. Much like many of the books and movies that have rehashed some of the Bard's tales (Lion King, Ten Things I Hate About You, etc.), it takes the basic outline and creates a wonderful, new story.  I found the story to be well written. It was filled with rich descriptions that enhanced the magical portion of the story's world. I found some of the supernatural elements of the story to be crafted slightly different than some of the others I've read. This gave it a refreshing point of view that I appreciate- it helps keep the genre from getting too cliche.  I loved the way Goff used the idea of the star-crossed lovers, the pair that succumbed to their families' hatred, as a cautionary tale for those that came after and enhanced it with a tale of powerful magic and intense hatred. For a young girl to navigate her way through a world with so many obstacles and try to overcome insurmountable odds... truly amazing.  In a way it is typical coming of age story. Sophie is reaching the point in her life where things are going to start changing and those changes are going to shape who she becomes but her journey is a little different than that of a normal girl. She starts off with only the most basic knowledge and though she longs to know more, the answers aren't easily found. With a little help from the spirit world she learns more and more about her world and her past. Enemies are present at every turn and she struggles to make the right decision before it's too late. This was a very creative and enthralling book and I can't wait to read more from this author. 
NoreenT More than 1 year ago
Plot okay. Very amateurish.Overall a disappointment.
CourtneyJenk89 More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time getting past the abundance of cliches and adjectives.  I wanted it to get better as it went on, but it didn't.  Save your money.