Double Cross (Someday Quilts Series #3)

Double Cross (Someday Quilts Series #3)

4.2 20
by Clare O'Donohue
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Book #3 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

A knotty new Nell Fitzgerald mystery in the series that's beguiling cozy fans and quilters alike.

Nell Fitzgerald and the Someday Quilts ladies are asked to lead a quilting workshop at a new bed and breakfast in upstate New York. However, the retreat quickly takes an unexpected dark turn. When a body

Overview

Book #3 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

A knotty new Nell Fitzgerald mystery in the series that's beguiling cozy fans and quilters alike.

Nell Fitzgerald and the Someday Quilts ladies are asked to lead a quilting workshop at a new bed and breakfast in upstate New York. However, the retreat quickly takes an unexpected dark turn. When a body is found in the woods, and one of their own is the chief suspect, the ladies must rely on their craftiest thinking as they embark on their most personal case yet.

With smart, sassy Nell leading the charge to clear her friend's name and find the real murderer, The Double Cross is sure to confirm Clare O'Donohue as a master of the mystery genre.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Quilt instructor Susanne Hendrick leaves Archers Rest, N.Y., for the Adirondack town of Winston to teach at the Patchwork Bed-and-Breakfast in O'Donohue's busy third Someday Quilts mystery (after 2009's A Drunkard's Path). Accompanying Susanne is crafty sleuth Nell Fitzgerald; Nell's quilt-shop owner grandmother, Eleanor Cassidy; Nell's trusty dog, Barney; and Bernadette "Bernie" Avallone, the onetime high school sweetheart of Patchwork's owner, George Olnhausen. Bernie has never forgiven George's wife, Rita, once her best friend, for marrying George. When George is found shot dead, covered by Bernie's "double cross" quilt, she becomes the prime suspect. Nell is relieved when her boyfriend, Archers Rest's police chief Jesse Dewalt, helps Winston police chief Jim McIntyre investigate. Barney sniffs out another corpse in the woods, adding more fun to a puzzler somewhat marred by an unconvincing subplot involving twins taking Susanne's quilting class. 6-city author tour. (Sept.)
Library Journal
The Someday Quilt ladies go to upstate New York to take part in a quilting workshop but instead find murder. VERDICT With delightful protagonists Nell Fitzgerald and her grandmother, a good mystery, and and quilting instructions, this third series title (after A Drunkard's Path and A Lover's Knot) will appeal to fans of Maggie Sefton and Debbie Macomber.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780452296428
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/28/2010
Series:
Someday Quilts Series, #3
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
430,056
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

CLARE O’DONOHUE is a freelance television writer/producer. She produced television’s most popular quilting show, Simply Quilts, on HGTV, and she is currently producing and writing for a variety of television crime shows, including Forensic Files. This is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Double Cross (Someday Quilts Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
1ladydiDN More than 1 year ago
Thotoughly enjoyed this book and the other books in the series. More please!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and easy read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story
kjames0189 More than 1 year ago
The characters are so charming and entertaining. The book includes just the right about of mystery, suspense and romance to keep you going.
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
They say the third time is a charm and that is what The Double Cross brings to the table. Nell and friends head up to an upstate B&B for a quilter's retreat to help one of their own lead a class. When the owner is found dead, Nell is worried that her friend Bernie will be the primary suspect, so she begins an investigation. The mystery kept me turning the pages as I tried to guess the killer's identity along with Nell. While paying attention to the clues along with Nell, another mystery popped up that I didn't see coming. The author's tone is nicely paced where you are wrapped in the warmth of the characters and the feel of the setting. This was an enjoyable read that was pieced together nicely.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
In this installment the ladies are off to the Patchwork Bed & Breakfast to support one of the quilting circle members who has been asked to lead a week long retreat featuring "journal quilts" and Eleanor has been asked to help set up a quilting shop at the B&B. When they arrive they are shocked that the B&B is nowhere near ready to open, the owners know nothing about quilting and the students taking part in the retreat are all local and none of them really wants to learn about quilting at all . There is something very un-seamly about the whole thing. Nell becomes very suspicious and recruits some of the quilting circle members who stayed home to run the store to do a little investigating. Things start to unravel even more when a body is found in the woods and fingers are being pointed at one of the quilting circle members as the murderer. Neal leads the quest to clear her friend's name and is shocked that the local law enforcement actually listens to her theories. As more and more secrets and evidence are revealed the story evolves into a real crazy quilt of ideas, but leads to a "double cross". I LOVED IT!!!!! I love reading series books one right after the other, the authors and characters grow and evolve right before your eyes. This author knows quilting, she worked on the HGTV show, Simply Quilts, for four seasons, eventually becoming the Supervising Producer. But after reading these books I have learned that she is also quite a storyteller. You can tell just by reading the author's words she is a true quilter that understands the tactile life of finding the perfect fabrics for the perfect quilt. She also knows how to piece together a good mystery. Stitch those things together, add a hint of romance and humor and you have a cozy mystery. Her words not only drew me into the mysteries but into the Someday Quilts shop. It was almost like I was going through the aisles, feeling, touching the fabrics. Stacking the fabrics, standing back viewing how they would compliment and contrast with each other. I used to spend hours searching for just the right fabric choice, calculating the yardage and choosing the right pattern. These books not only entertained me with their mysteries but brought back some truly wonderful memories. I think if I could change one thing in my life it would be to follow my bliss after high school and have worked on my crafts and maybe opened a craft store instead of studying and working in the accounting field, minus the murder, of course. I have to thank Mary at Plume for sending me this wonderful series for review and I hope there will be many more adventures forthcoming in the Someday Quilts Mystery Series!! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books free from Plume Books, a Division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
harstan More than 1 year ago
George Olnhausen hires quilt instructor Susanne Hendrick to instruct at a workshop at the Patchwork Bed-and-Breakfast in the picturesque Adirondack Mountains town of Winston. Accompanying Susanne on her journey from Archers Rest are Nell Fitzgerald; her quilt-shop owner grandmother Eleanor Cassidy; Barney the dog; and George's high school girlfriend Bernadette "Bernie" Avallone. Bernie still loathes her former BFF Rita for taking George from her. So when someone kills George, Bernie is a prime suspect; even more so because her "double cross" quilt covering the body. Nell's boyfriend, Archers Rest's police chief Jesse Dewalt assists Winston police chief Jim McIntyre with the investigation while Barney finds another corpse in the woods. The latest Someday Quilt amateur sleuth (see A Drunkard's Path and A Lover's Knot) is an engaging whodunit as the ladies work the case one stitch at a time. The story line is fast-paced when it focuses on who killed George; a sidebar involving workshop students is fascinating in its own right; but detracts from the prime whodunit. Still fans will enjoy the Someday Quilt ladies take over the New York Adirondacks. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago