Every Move

Every Move

3.0 1
by Peter McPhee
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

It begins with a chance encounter: teenage Emily and her friends come to the aid of a stranger who is being bullied by a gang. Emily forgets about the incident, but the young man she helped becomes fixated on her. Only when her real love interest is attacked does she begin to understand that the stranger's interest in her has become a full-blown obsession.

…  See more details below

Overview

It begins with a chance encounter: teenage Emily and her friends come to the aid of a stranger who is being bullied by a gang. Emily forgets about the incident, but the young man she helped becomes fixated on her. Only when her real love interest is attacked does she begin to understand that the stranger's interest in her has become a full-blown obsession. Every Move is a realistic but chilling look at this threatening and all-too-common form of harassment.

Editorial Reviews

CM: Canadian Review of Materials
"Peter McPhee wades into the murky waters of stalking in this short, accessible novel...McPhee nicely balances the up-to-date banter between teens with the hair-raising horror of an innocent girl's unawareness of her stalker. The mood is full of dramatic irony, with the reader gradually realizing that the trusting nature of Emily and her parents is going to result in tragedy."
KLIATT
This thriller set in Calgary is sure to grab the attention of every fan of suspense stories. Emily, a high school junior, finds herself the unwilling object of Michael LaVide's affections. Michael is a shy, introverted computer geek who gives off a creepy vibe right from the start. He lavishes attention on Emily, sending her cards, poems, and e-mails, but it quickly becomes clear that his interest in her is not exactly harmless. He knows every detail of Emily's life, watches her every move, and even manages to get a job at the same cafT where she works in an attempt to keep his eye on her at all times. In Michael's mind, the two are destined to be together and are actually dating. Things come to a head when his stalking of her moves from being annoying to genuinely frightening. Despite being mentally unhinged, Michael is not a wholly unsympathetic character. McPhee adeptly shows him to be a severely disturbed young man, one who can bounce quickly between being kind and, in his own sick way looking out for Emily, to being psychotic. Every Move is suspenseful, if somewhat predictable, with choppy writing. The reader may find herself aggravated with Emily, who seems to wait way too long to involve her parents and the authorities in this case. As is typical in many thrillers, the heroine tends to do exactly what the reader knows she shouldn't do—go outside alone at night, respond to Michael's attention, and so on. The cliffhanger ending leaves this twisted tale of love open and Emily's safety uncertain. Fans of Caroline Cooney, Christopher Pike, or Lois Duncan will be satisfied with McPhee's story. Reluctant readers will keep turning the pages of this fast-paced novel to see whatMichael will do next. KLIATT Codes: JS—Recommended for junior and senior high school students. 2004, Orca, Lorimer, 183p., Ages 12 to 18.
—Amanda MacGregor
VOYA
McPhee, whose other realistic works for teens include Runner (Orca, 2000) and Out of Time (James Lorimer, 2003), explores the demented reality of a stalker whose obsession wreaks havoc in his victim's life. Inspired by actual events, the book is a fictionalized account of the criminal case involving a Canadian woman who was stalked by a high school classmate for nearly two decades. Sixteen-year-old Emily Taylor meets Michael LaVide at Calgary's Cyber Taste CafT, where she works as a barista, unaware that Michael has been covertly following and photographing her for weeks. He soon begins sending Emily seemingly innocuous e-mail and gifts. When she starts dating Daniel, however, Michael's behavior becomes dangerous. Arrested for vandalizing Emily's home, Michael escapes custody and sets fire to the cafT to injure Daniel. Frightened and exhausted, Emily travels to the Mediterranean to distance herself from the nightmarish ordeal, but readers discover that Michael is still tracking her from the hospital to which he has been remanded. The book's first and final chapters-written in Michael's disquieting voice-are chilling, but those between are narrated in third person, subtly detaching readers from Emily's fear, anger, and despair. True crime readers and those with a special interest in the phenomenon of stalking will enjoy this realistic story. The novel lacks the suspense to engage general and reluctant readers without pushing. Nonetheless this book would prove valuable in English and journalism classes to compare and contrast fictionalized narratives with the nonfiction accounts that inspired them. VOYA CODES: 3Q 3P J S (Readable without serious defects; Will appeal with pushing; JuniorHigh, defined as grades 7 to 9; Senior High, defined as grades 10 to 12). 2004, James Lorimer (Dist. by Orca), 184p., pb. Ages 12 to 18.
—Sherry Korthals
Resource Links
"Every Move moves along well, with a suspenseful buildup, and addresses a relevant topic. This would be a good paperback selection for a young adult collection."
CM Magazine
"Peter McPhee wades into the murky waters of stalking in this short, accessible novel...McPhee nicely balances the up-to-date banter between teens with the hair-raising horror of an innocent girl's unawareness of her stalker. The mood is full of dramatic irony, with the reader gradually realizing that the trusting nature of Emily and her parents is going to result in tragedy."

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781550288506
Publisher:
Lorimer, James & Company, Limited
Publication date:
11/16/2004
Series:
Lorimer SideStreets Series
Pages:
184
Product dimensions:
4.25(w) x 7.00(h) x 0.33(d)
Lexile:
HL670L (what's this?)
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Every Move 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book kept me on my toes the whole time! Pretty awsome..i didnt like the ending though! I vote for a sequel! PLEASE!