Missing Your Smile
  • Alternative view 1 of Missing Your Smile
  • Alternative view 2 of Missing Your Smile

Missing Your Smile

4.0 15
by Jerry S. Eicher
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Readers will delight in this heartfelt novel by bestselling author Jerry Eicher, a former Amishman, who writes with authenticity and compassion about the people he grew up with.

When Susan Hostetler has a falling out with her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, she leaves her Amish community and moves to Asbury Park to experiment in English life. There she learns to

…  See more details below

Overview

Readers will delight in this heartfelt novel by bestselling author Jerry Eicher, a former Amishman, who writes with authenticity and compassion about the people he grew up with.

When Susan Hostetler has a falling out with her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, she leaves her Amish community and moves to Asbury Park to experiment in English life. There she learns to drive a car, takes her GED test, and falls in love with young and handsome Duane Bower. Back home, her parents are devastated and miss their daughter terribly. But what can they do? Susan has a mind of her own.

Just as Susan is enjoying her new life, her plans are interrupted. She meets Teresa Long, a young, unwed, expectant mother who asks Susan to help her have her baby adopted by an Amish family. As Susan is drawn into the young woman's life, she also finds herself drawn back to her Amish roots. But can she truly leave her life behind...and Duane?

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“I would recommend this book as a good investment of your money and time and I'm looking forward to finding out what happens next. Jerry S. Eicher did a great job on this one.”
Wendy Newcomb

“I absolutely loved this book. I am giving it 5 stars. This is not your typical Amish story. By the end of the book I was begging for more. I can't wait to see what happens next! I will be waiting patiently for Following Your Heart! A job well done, Mr. Eicher!”
Judy Burgi

“I loved it!!! Can't wait for the next one to come out so I can find out what happens. This was just a super book that I truly enjoyed. Jerry Eicher is a wonderful writer; I highly recommend this book.”
Vicki Lynch

“Jerry Eicher’s Missing Your Smile is a breath of fresh air. The story is fresh, and the characters are well-defined and purposeful. I was drawn into Susan’s life in much the same way as she is drawn to the world of the Englisha. I joyfully await the next book in the Fields of Home Series. Eicher has given his readers another wonderful story!”
—Rena E. Holcomb

“Jerry has once again used his great ability to make you part of the character's problems, challenges, fears and joys. The plot is well developed with enough variety and surprises to keep you spellbound as to what will happen next! Myself, I am eagerly awaiting Book 2 in this series, to answer at least some of my questions remaining with me when I finished reading this book. A great book!! Well done, Jerry! Loved it and looking forward to more in this new series.”
Karla Hanns

“Great book!”
Wade Hatfield

Library Journal
Following an argument with her suitor, Susan Hostetler leaves her Amish community before becoming baptized to try out life as an Englisher. Her journey takes her to New Jersey, where she takes the high school equivalency test, learns to drive a car, and meets a handsome young man. But when pregnant, unmarried Teresa Long asks for Susan's help in finding an Amish family to adopt her baby, Susan begins to question her new, modern life. VERDICT Best-selling author Eicher (Ella Finds Love Again) writes homespun stories with relaxed pacing. Having grown up in the Amish church, he intimately knows the world he so vividly depicts. Fans of Mary Ellis, Lisa Wingate, and Suzanne Woods Fisher will want to sample this new series.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780736939430
Publisher:
Harvest House Publishers
Publication date:
02/01/2012
Series:
Fields of Home, #1
Pages:
288
Sales rank:
1,107,318
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.80(d)

Videos

Meet the Author

Jerry Eicher taught for two terms in Amish and Mennonite schools in Ohio and Illinois. He writes of his experience growing up Amish in his memoir My Amish Childhood. Jerry has been involved in church renewal, preaching, and teaching Bible studies. He lives with his wife, Tina, and their four children in Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >