On the Rocks: A Novel

On the Rocks: A Novel

4.3 16
by Erin Duffy
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Ever since she was a little girl, Abby Wilkes has dreamed of her wedding, the day when she'd wear a pretty white dress and look like a princess. . . .

That was before her life fell apart in front of the whole world. Her longtime boyfriend-turned-fiancé, Ben, unceremoniously dumped her—by changing his status to single on Facebook—while

Overview

Ever since she was a little girl, Abby Wilkes has dreamed of her wedding, the day when she'd wear a pretty white dress and look like a princess. . . .

That was before her life fell apart in front of the whole world. Her longtime boyfriend-turned-fiancé, Ben, unceremoniously dumped her—by changing his status to single on Facebook—while she was trying on the most gorgeous Vera Wang dress for the big day.

Worried, her best friend, Grace, devises the perfect plan to get Abby back on her game. The two of them are going to escape sweltering Boston and its constant reminders of Ben and head to Newport for the summer. In a quaint rented cottage by the sea, Grace is confident the girls will enjoy cool breezes, cocktails, and crowds of gorgeous men.

But Abby and Grace discover that in this era of social media there is no real escape. Dating has never been easy. But now that the rules have changed and the boundaries are blurred beyond recognition, will they ever find true love? And if they do, how can romance stand a chance when a girl's every word and move can go viral with a single click?

As the summer winds down to Labor Day, Abby will make some surprising discoveries—about love, men, friendship . . . and, most important, herself.

Editorial Reviews

Booklist on ON THE ROCKS
Duffy’s second novel is tenderly introspective. . . . Abby’s attempts to navigate the everchanging rules of dating are infinitely relatable and will prove to be an ideal beach read for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Sarah Pekkanen.
Romantic Times
“Alternately humorous and touching, this novel is a fast, fun read…[Abby] is someone you’d want to friend, freezer full of ice cream and all.”
Adriana Trigiani
“I’m crazy about Bond Girl. Erin Duffy is a fresh, funny, and fabulous new voice in literature.…Great story. Delicious debut.”
Washington Post on Bond Girl
Bond Girl is a witty and very racy...Trust me, you won’t be bored with this Wall Street story.”
Entertainment Weekly on BOND GIRL
Bond Girl is a sparkling debut, smart and snappy but never weighed down by financial terminology. Who knew Wall Street could be this much fun? A-”
Chicago Tribune on Bond Girl
“Writing with an addictively acerbic sense of humor, Duffy gives readers a sassy new heroine and an unforgettable tour of financial trading.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch on Bond Girl
“Told in first person in Alex’s voice — and what an appealing voice it is, one that makes Alex likable from the first page — “Bond Girl” is a smartly written comic novel that’s great fun to read.”
Wisconsin Rapids Tribune on BOND GIRL
“If you’re looking for a great weekend retreat or a great book for the beach, look for this one. For any woman who’s ever had a love-hate-detest relationship with a job Bond Girl is truly perfect.”
Booklist on BOND GIRL
“Duffy’s first novel is a sharp, witty look at the intricacies of the trading floor and the people who populate it. The writing is clever and articulate, and Alex’s story of personal growth makes her a sympathetic, likable heroine…an entertaining and timely read.”
Washington Post
Bond Girl is a witty and very racy...Trust me, you won’t be bored with this Wall Street story.”
Chicago Tribune
“Writing with an addictively acerbic sense of humor, Duffy gives readers a sassy new heroine and an unforgettable tour of financial trading.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch
“Told in first person in Alex’s voice — and what an appealing voice it is, one that makes Alex likable from the first page — “Bond Girl” is a smartly written comic novel that’s great fun to read.”
Library Journal
02/15/2014
With her second novel (after Bond Girl), Duffy succeeds again in bringing a fresh perspective to women's fiction for the thirtysomething set that is funny, relatable, and unpredictable. As she tries on wedding dresses for her big day, Abby learns via Facebook that her fiancé has dumped her. In an effort to salvage her mental framework and her waistline after six months of wallowing in self-pity and pints of Ben & Jerry's ice cream, Abby and her best friend Grace leave Boston for a summer in Newport, RI. They both hope to rediscover themselves and enjoy a peaceful environment free from their stresses and the control their men have over their hearts and minds. This vacation proves to be a huge learning experience for Abby as she tries to date in a social media-saturated world that is not as private and untraceable as she once thought. VERDICT With its more realistic and modern ending, this engaging novel offers readers relaxing and light yet thoughtful summer escape. [Library marketing.]—Anne M. Miskewitch, Chicago P.L.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062205766
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/28/2015
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
355,712
Product dimensions:
5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.75(d)

Meet the Author

Erin Duffy graduated from Georgetown University with a B.A. in English and worked on Wall Street, a career that inspired her first novel, Bond Girl. She lives in New York City with her husband (whom she met the old-fashioned way—in a bar).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

On the Rocks: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
irishclaireKG More than 1 year ago
A Mess. Duffy's first novel, 'Bond Girl' is a smart, fast paced, and terrific debut about a young woman's harsh coming of age on Wall Street during the 2008 crash. Therefore, it's hard to believe this came from the same author. I found this a total trainwreck centered on the most predictable, done to death, cliche in so-called 'women's fiction': a young woman is cruelly dumped by her fiance and then spends months eating herself into a stupor, gaining lots of weight, not totally cutting ties with the jerk, and wallowing all the while accompanied by a best friend with definite issues of her own. The friend's solution to Abby's heartache is to go to Newport for the summer where they can drink themselves into oblivion regularly, live the bar-hopping lifestyle and pick up guys. (And these are not spoilers). These are supposedly smart professionals. The plot goes all over the place: is this an indictment of social media and its effect on relationships? If so, that's never consistently, clearly, or intelligently employed. Is it a look at how unrealistic romantic notions doom relationships? If so, it's never dealt with except some whining about 'Disney ruined my life.' I think this is supposed to be about grabbing life's opportunities but all we get is a 31 year old (and we know this because Abby tells us on every other page) kindergarten teacher who barely mentions her career except to alternately imply it's an easy job that doesn't take much time/effort to a much later, out of the blue statement that her job is very important. She constantly tells us how old and 'spinsterish' 31 is and how she is going to be grown up and serious because she is, after all, 31. She is obsessed with finding a man. At one point a character calls Abby 'pathetic', and boy, is that accurate. Abby spends most of the book acting like an 18 year old on Spring Break whose only goals are to drink, go to the bars, pick up guys, whine about her weight, whine about bad dates, whine about how old she is and how she must get married. A part time job really only serves the purpose of bringing in more potential hook ups and another female character who goes nowhere in terms of character. While there are some witty one liners used as chapter titles, the tone shifts wildly and the last couple of pages try to wrap up everything in a clunky attempt at depth that comes out of nowhere and should have 'And the moral is...' introducing it. Abby's mother is an over the top, cardboard stereotype: the narcissistic nightmare so ego maniacal she cannot see or care about her kid. A much more interesting twist would have been a mother who had some world wisdom and grounding in contrast to her daughter's flightiness. I wanted to smack every character (with the exception of Abby's aunt who seems to have some common sense) on every page. I hope this is just a sophomore slump and that the author will find MUCH better footing in a third attempt. Do yourself a favor and read 'Bond Girl.'
Anonymous 11 months ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. A good, light read. Will recommend to friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and very well written. I could relate and made me do some reevaluating
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
The characters here, as in Duffy's first book, are so well drawn, you feel like you know them. As I was reading On The Rocks, I felt like I was one of the group, hanging out with Abby, Grace, Bobby and Wolf on the beach, going to bars, eating seafood on the deck. Duffy has an uncanny ability to put the reader right there with them. Bobby and Grace tell Abby that she is being too picky, and then to prove their point, Abby reels off a list of deal breakers."Well, I mean I don't think I could date a guy who chews with his mouth open. I have no patience for guys with bad table manners. I won't be able to handle anyone who eats like a Neanderthal. Oh, and he can't be a Jets fan. God, I could never date a Jets fan...And he needs to have good teeth. This day and age, there is no excuse for an overbite." I didn't care if Grace thought this was hypercritical. I like a nice smile. Sue me.Duffy puts humor in this tale that made me laugh out loud. When Abby tried to restore some order to her life by organizing her apartment, going so far as to alphabetize her spice rack "so she could locate the cinnamon right next to the cloves should some sort of spontaneous bake-off erupt in my apartment", I chortled. Abby's mom reminded me of the mother character in Carrie Fisher's novel, Postcards From The Edge, played memorably in the movie by Shirley McLaine. Her mother is devastated that the wedding has been called off because she couldn't wait for everyone to see how good she looked. She ends up wearing a bridal gown to her younger daughter's wedding, as if it was her own wedding. She is a piece of work. Bobby is my favorite character in the novel. He seems to like Abby more than he lets on, but he does his best to set her up with other guys. He is funny, charming, a freeloader (always coming over for beer, food and cigarettes), but he seems to be a genuine good guy. Watching Abby and Bobby's budding friendship is one of the highlights of the novel. On The Rocks is the perfect book to drop in your bag as you head for spring break or look forward to summers on the beach. I'd love to run into Abby, Bobby and the gang again in a future novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Experience the journey of a woman dealing with a bad breakup, as she tries to heal and "get back out there• Lots of humor thrown in and was pleasantly surprised that it did not end like i thought it would
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny, quirky and entertaining. A nice story about friendship, some family and dating disasters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"'Aight. I need to go update my bio." He vanishes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks out; humming 'Ride'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to mea result six