One Moment

One Moment

4.3 20
by Kristina McBride
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Following on the heels of her "must-read" debut novel (New York Times best-selling author Jay Asher) One Moment is perfect for fans of Sara Zorr and Gayle Forman.

Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect

See more details below

Overview

Following on the heels of her "must-read" debut novel (New York Times best-selling author Jay Asher) One Moment is perfect for fans of Sara Zorr and Gayle Forman.

Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can't she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below—dead?

As Maggie's memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Maggie Reynolds is eagerly planning the summer before her senior year, which will include hanging out with her best friends Shannon, Tanna, and Adam, and losing her virginity to Joey, her boyfriend of two years. But when daredevil Joey dies cliff-diving with Maggie and she can’t remember the moment before his fall, an investigation ensues. Initially Maggie blames herself for the accident (“What if one small thing changed? Would we all be hanging out right now, listening to music while Joey laughed at something stupid”), but when Adam refuses to answer questions about the last 24 hours of Joey’s life it becomes clear that both Adam and Joey were hiding something from her. As Maggie’s memories gradually return, she collects clues to uncover the truth. McBride (The Tension of Opposites) skillfully interweaves Maggie’s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery. The dynamics among the tight-knit group of friends are well-drawn, and Maggie’s voice persuasively conveys her guilt, disorientation, and pain as she uncovers her friends’ secrets. Ages 14–up. Agent: Alyssa Eisner Henkin, Trident Media Group. (June)¦
VOYA - Jen McIntosh
Maggie is enjoying Memorial Day weekend with her boyfriend, Joey, and her other four closest friends when the unthinkable happens—Joey dies jumping off a cliff. He had jumped that cliff diving into the local lake many times without incident causing his confused friends and family to wonder what was different about this time. Maggie was also at the top of the cliff and is the only person who could have any answers, but the accident leaves her traumatized and incapable of remembering anything that happened. The four remaining friends struggle to deal with Joey's death, Maggie's inability to remember, and their changing relationships. Kristina McBride has written a poignant, heartbreaking tale of how one moment in a person's life can change everything. The story is told from Maggie's point of view and McBride concentrates on developing her character. McBride tells the story at just the right pace, leading teens to guess what happened before Maggie realizes it. Teens will identify with Maggie's pain as she recognizes that her perfect, idolized boyfriend was not actually perfect and she did not know him as well as she thought. The story is sad, but not sappy, and ends hopefully, but not unrealistically, and is a worthy addition to teen collections. Reviewer: Jen McIntosh
Kirkus Reviews
Heading into summer with her closest friends, Maggie feels like she has it all, including a perfect boyfriend. She even plans to step up the level of intimacy with Joey. The day after a wild party, they're at one of their favorite hangouts--a gorge where everyone but Maggie has leapt off a cliff into a swimming hole. This time Maggie decides she's ready, if Joey holds her hand. Something about the bracelet on Joey's wrist tugs at the back of her mind as they climb, and in the moment before they leap, she stops. Joey doesn't, twisting in midair as he falls to his death. Adam finds Maggie cowering in the bushes on the trail with no memory of what happened. Maggie's first-person account meanders between comforting flashbacks of Joey and her struggle to confront her fear that she caused his death. Fragments of the incident return, revealing some unwelcome truths about Joey and their friends, some of whom are grieving for very different reasons from those she could have imagined. Like a puzzle, pieces of Joey's life start to fall into place, making Maggie realize that there might have been a reason not to trust him after all. Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers. (Fiction. 14-17)
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—Maggie and Joey are the perfect couple. He's outgoing and a little crazy, while she's a little more cautious and calm. They have a fantastic group of friends, and the summer between their junior and senior year stretches out in front of them. They're looking forward to parties, hanging at the pool, and the jumping hole. Everyone has jumped numerous times, except Maggie. Her fear of heights has always stopped her, but this time is different. As she prepares to jump with Joey, everything goes blank. There is yelling and her friends find her hiding in the bushes. And Joey is dead. Maggie can't remember a thing from the cliff top and the police are asking questions. Her friends are falling apart around her. Then little things start to happen that make them all begin to realize that Joey was not the legend they thought he was and that they all have secrets. The question becomes not will Maggie remember what happened, but will their friends survive this trauma. One Moment explores themes of loss, friendship, love, grief, and betrayal, and McBride does an excellent job of keeping them from becoming overwhelming. Readers will feel the bond between the teens and their pain. The big reveal is a little obvious, but it doesn't detract from the compelling story.—Melyssa Kenney, Parkville High School, Baltimore, MD

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781606840863
Publisher:
EgmontUSA
Publication date:
06/26/2012
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
1,280,720
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile:
730L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >