Shadow's Master

( 9 )

Overview

THE NORTHERN WASTES...

A land of death and shadow where only the strongest survive. Yet that is where Caim must go to follow the mystery at the heart of his life. Armed only with his knives and his companions, he plunges into a world of eternal night where the sun is never seen and every hand is turned ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (35) from $1.99   
  • New (18) from $1.99   
  • Used (17) from $1.99   
Shadow's Master

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$11.99 List Price

Overview

THE NORTHERN WASTES...

A land of death and shadow where only the strongest survive. Yet that is where Caim must go to follow the mystery at the heart of his life. Armed only with his knives and his companions, he plunges into a world of eternal night where the sun is never seen and every hand is turned against him.

Caim has buried his father's sword and found some measure of peace, but deep in the north an unfathomable power lies waiting. To succeed on this mission, Caim will have to do more than just survive. He must face the Shadow's Master.

With this novel, Jon Sprunk brings his action-packed trilogy to an epic conclusion.

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING:

Praise for "Shadow's Son" and "Shadow's Lure"

"Fans of Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson will certainly find plenty to like here." —The Mad Hatter's Bookshelf & Book Review

"The intrigue, action scenes, and ever-more-revealing character insights are masterfully woven together in a book the reader won't want to put down... . Overall, a first-rate sword-and-sorcery tale, with intriguing characters, that moves at a fast pace." — Booklist

"This book IS action... . The pacing, action, and characters are all well written, and really that is what the focus is on for this novel... . We'll read [Sprunk's] stuff readily, every time. So should you." —Elitist Book Reviews

"When Sprunk gets going, he writes with an energy that has to be experienced to be believed... . A thoroughly entertaining read that had me wondering if perhaps all assassin stories aren't the same after all." —Graeme's Fantasy Book Review

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Darker, bloodier, and better than its predecessors.... There's plenty of action and combat, and Sprunk handles it with finesse.  Fans of action oriented sword and sorcery will find plenty to cheer about here.”
— Adventures Fantastic

"Sword and Sorcery action of a high order.... If you have any interest in sword and sorcery, you owe it to yourself to check out Sprunk’s work.... You will be glad you did.”
— SF Signal 

“Go buy Sprunk's novels. They are great pieces of assassin-themed fantasy that everyone should be enjoying.”
— Elitist Book Reviews

Library Journal
Searching for answers to questions about his origins, the assassin Caim leaves his adopted city of Othir to travel to the forbidding landscape of the northern wastes. Accompanying him are Malig, the brothers Aemon and Dray, and Kit, his ghostly lover. Able to manipulate shadows to do his bidding, Caim realizes that his quest will lead to a confrontation with no less than Shadow's Master. This concluding volume to Sprunk's trilogy (Shadow's Son; Shadow's Lure) brings Caim to the brink of death and to a new self-knowledge, leaving enough unfinished business for more series titles. VERDICT Sprunk sets old-fashioned sword and sorcery in a noir fantasy that should appeal to fans of Michael Moorcock's Elric novels and the "Thieves' World" stories by Robert Lynn Asprin and Lynn Abbey.
Kirkus Reviews
Third in the series (Shadow's Lure, 2011, etc.) in which knife-wielding, magic-powered assassin Caim Du'Vartha tries to figure out what's going on. Caim's magic derives from his control over mysterious shadow-entities that crawl all over everything; sometimes they heal him, sometimes they kill people (or wait for Caim to do the job) and drink their blood. He sets off to the north, along with some warrior friends, following a psychic lure that he hopes will bring him to the secret behind his mother's disappearance and his power over the shadows. He leaves Josey, his lover, now Empress of the Nimean Empire and pregnant, to consolidate her power--but instead she faces a new invasion from the north by barbarian warriors who vastly outnumber her own forces. Caim is also accompanied, or haunted, by a disembodied sprit, Kit, who turns out to be an immortal Fae and more often an annoyance than a help; how she manages to float around like a ghost remains unexplained. Another character, Balaam, also a magic-powered assassin but in service to the Dark Lord whom Caim is destined to confront, is beginning to have doubts. Sprunk writes effective action prose and makes worthy efforts to develop his characters, but Josey's political backdrop is naïve. The evil shadows have some strikingly original touches, yet their motivations could have been wielded much more effectively; instead we end up with a rather trudging showdown, as if Aragorn learned that Sauron was his grandfather and stopped to chat before battling it out. The good news is that Sprunk continues to improve. Series fans will dive right in; curious newcomers should begin at the beginning and avoid at least some of the confusion.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781616146054
  • Publisher: Prometheus Books
  • Publication date: 3/27/2012
  • Pages: 313
  • Sales rank: 456,289
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Jon Sprunk lives in central Pennsylvania with his wife and son. When not writing, he enjoys travel, collecting medieval and ancient weaponry, and pro football. Visit him online at jonsprunk.com, on Facebook (Jon Sprunk), or Twitter (jsprunk70).

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Highly recommended - I would have given it a 4.5 but ...

    since that is not possible on Goodreads, I let it have the 5 stars. The story was good. Great conclusion to the Shadow Saga. I absolutely loved the characters. The story was entertaining, fast paced and moving at times. As much as I enjoyed Shadow's Son and Shadow's Lure, this last installment really topped them all. Great, really great writing and I hope to be able to enjoy many more stories from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)