Televenge

Televenge

by Pamela King Cable
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Andie Oliver is a faithful woman-to God, to her handsome husband Joe, and to televangelist Reverend Calvin Artury, a Godfather in a Mafia of holy men.

Raised in the 1970's to be subservient and submissive in the tradition of the Bible-belt South, she becomes a prisoner of that tradition. As a reluctant member of Artury's evangelical megachurch, the House of

Overview

Andie Oliver is a faithful woman-to God, to her handsome husband Joe, and to televangelist Reverend Calvin Artury, a Godfather in a Mafia of holy men.

Raised in the 1970's to be subservient and submissive in the tradition of the Bible-belt South, she becomes a prisoner of that tradition. As a reluctant member of Artury's evangelical megachurch, the House of Praise in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, Andie's dream of children, home, and marriage falls apart when Joe is hired by the ministry team. Joe had been a gentle lover, a kind man, and a hard-working and faithful husband. Only lately had Andie felt him turn his attention more to church than her.

The charismatic Reverend conducts faith-healing crusades, creating the largest religious television audience in the world, surpassing the income and followers of Oral Roberts and Billy Graham. Working limitless hours, Joe is sucked deeper into the ministry while Andie attempts to free him from the Reverend's control and far-reaching influence.

But it is Mavis Dumass, Andie's best friend since birth, a sassy, gorgeous African-American woman and aspiring recording star, who holds the secrets to Reverend Artury's carefully veiled debauchery. Mavis is fiercely protective of Andie (and just as fiercely disdainful of both Joe and Reverend Artury). What happens to Mavis leaves Andie near mental collapse and struggling for freedom from the cult's grip.

Andie is still unaware of the extreme danger their pastor wields until she witnesses the murder of a church member. Fearing for her life, she plummets from a dreadful existence into a horrific one as she uncovers Reverend Artury's long-hidden truths, and loses everything, including her children. But she strikes back, threatening to expose the Reverend to the world.

Raised by two psychopathic aunts, Reverend Artury reverts to the twisted cleansings of his childhood. As his mental stability declines, Andie quickly realizes she must go into hiding. Fighting for redemption for her family and herself, Andie confronts the very definition of evil personified. Evading ruthless adversaries who will go to any lengths to protect Reverend Artury, Andie battles the darkest side of televangelism.

Vivid and tragic, Televenge exposes chaos in the megachurch, and embraces those who discover their destiny in unconditional love in a world fraught with fear and intimidation. With more twists and turns than the Blue Ridge Parkway, Televenge takes you from the Piedmont South to the Hawaiian Islands, to Nigeria, Africa, and back to the high country of North Carolina.

In pitch-perfect voices, Pamela King Cable's emotionally rich debut novel creates four extraordinary characters who will stay with the reader long after they finish the book. Suspensful and deeply moving, Televenge will be one of the most talked about books of the year.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Cable's (Southern Fried Women) unflinching fictional exposé of the dark side of televangelism has a human victim in the person of Andie Oliver. At 17 the young Southerner married Joe Oliver, whose family is "dedicated... to furthering the ministry of the Reverend Artury at the House of Praise." Andie's romantic dreams of marriage shatter when Joe's insistence on tithing the church means life in a squalid trailer park for them while Rev. Calvin Artury lives in opulence. Andie soon realizes Artury also controls her marriage. He chooses Joe for an unpaid position within his ministry, keeping Joe away from home for long periods. Then he mandates that all male employees undergo a vasectomy; desperate to have children, Andie manages to become pregnant before the procedure. Fearful of losing Artury's favor, Joe abuses the rebellious Andie physically and emotionally, but with her father's help she escapes, buying a house and a business to support her young twins. But unable to escape Artury's clutches, she considers drastic action. Cable, a former member of a megachurch, places Andie's desperate struggle against the oppression of Artury's church, its brutal inner circle, murderous practices, financial fraud, and Joe's abuse. This powerful story, skillfully written and with well-drawn characters, reveals the classic entrapment of vulnerable people in the name of a vengeful god marred only by the saccharine ending. (Oct.)
From the Publisher
A captivating, beautifully rendered, and unforgettable look at a world so few of us understand. Ms. Cable has courageously opened the door...and my eyes. — Lesley Kagen, NY Times bestselling author of 'Good Graces'

Searing, haunting and unforgettable—the dark side of twisted faith and the indomitable human spirit. — Gail Z. Martin, author of 'The Dread'

A story that pulls you in and keeps you reading, of love turned cruel and evil robed in holiness. By the time you're through you'll have a new friend—Andie Rose, Televenge's gutsy heroine. And you won't forget her for a long, long time — David Halperin, Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies, UNC-Chapel Hill

Pamela King Cable's debut novel breathes good and evil, frost and fire. You can finish it, but it won't let you go. — Jacquelyn Mitchard, Author of 'The Deep End of the Ocean'

Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime. — Library Journal

This powerful story, skillfully written and with well-drawn characters, reveals the classic entrapment of vulnerable people in the name of a vengeful god... — Publishers Weekly

Library Journal
In Cable's debut novel, young Southerner Andie Rose has fallen in love with the wrong man. Joe Oliver is a devoted follower of Rev. Calvin Artury, leader of the evangelical megachurch House of Praise, and Andie soon discovers the horrendous secrets of the church's most prominent members. Though Andie is the main narrator, the point of view shifts among various characters, including the twisted mind of Reverend Artury. The explicit descriptions of blackmail, murder, rape, pedophilia, and pornography are not for the faint of heart. Yet loving relationships, faith, and family balance this dark side and make this novel an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins. VERDICT Cable, author of the short story collection Southern Fried Women, starts strong, but her constant additions to the plot and the level of detail can burden the reader's patience. However, those who commit to Cable's tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime. [This title was a LJ editor's BEA pick, "From Magick to BBQ & Backlist," LJ 7/12—Ed.]—Shannon Marie Robinson, Univ. of the Arts Libs., Philadelphia

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781935874164
Publisher:
Satya House Publications
Publication date:
10/05/2012
Edition description:



A fast-paced novel about a woman fighting to save her family from the dark side of Televangelism.

Pages:
584
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.70(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Pamela King Cable is the author of the highly acclaimed collection of short stories, Southern Fried Women. Born a coal miner's granddaughter and raised by a tribe of wild Pentecostals and storytellers, she is an award-winning writer who has taught at many writing conferences, and speaks to book clubs, women's groups, national and local civic organizations, and at churches throughout the country. Televenge is her debut novel. A Southerner at heart, she now lives in Ohio with her husband, Michael.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >