Tiger's Claw

Tiger's Claw

3.9 72
by Dale Brown
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Former Air Force captain and New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is an acknowledged master when it comes to bringing military action to breathtaking life and he has received glowing accolades since his debut publication, Flight of the Old Dog.

Tiger’s Claw proves once again that every rave has been well deserved. Set in the

Overview

Former Air Force captain and New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is an acknowledged master when it comes to bringing military action to breathtaking life and he has received glowing accolades since his debut publication, Flight of the Old Dog.

Tiger’s Claw proves once again that every rave has been well deserved. Set in the near future, Tiger’s Claw imagines a scenario in which tensions escalate between an economically powerful China and a United States weakened by a massive economic downfall, bringing the two superpowers to the brink of total destruction. Brown’s popular protagonist, retired Air Force lieutenant-general Patrick McLanahan (of A Time for Patriots, Rogue Forces, and other Brown bestsellers), is back and preparing for the impending apocalyptic clash of men and military technology.

The incomparable Dale Brown scores again with a frighteningly possible story of war and global politics that’s ideal for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor.

Editorial Reviews

In this near future novel, a much weakened America and an aggressive China are locked in a conflict that threatens to escalate into total war. After a series of provocative incidents, President Kenneth Phoenix makes an urgent call to Bradley McLanahan, the son of the heroic man who lends his name to this resilient series. As you can imagine, the young man responds to his new assignment in battle ready McLanahan style. An adroit military thriller by old hand Dale Brown (Collateral Damage; Shadow Command); now in mass-market paperback and NOOK Book.

Publishers Weekly
Following 2011's A Time for Patriots, China is the bad guy in the 18th entry of Brown's long-running Patrick McLanahan series, set in 2014 & 2015. A 21st century Cold War looms after the Chinese test a new ballistic missile, and tensions ratchet up further when a US reconnaissance plane disappears somewhere over the South China Sea. The crisis tests the mettle of President Kenneth Phoenix, who fears that he's presiding over a "failed republic". Saving the day falls to Bradley McLanahan, son of "the hero of the American Holocaust, space hero, the greatest strategic bombing expert since General Curtis LeMay." Even though his father is retired from service, he naturally lends a hand as the clock ticks down to the prospect of all-out war and the threat of nuclear weapons hovers over the continental US. The assured writing and deft plotting keep things moving forward, and Brown again proves that he's a more-than-adequate substitute for Tom Clancy.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061990021
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/30/2013
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
512
Sales rank:
315,220
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 7.40(h) x 1.40(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Dale Brown is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, from Flight of the Old Dog (1987) to, most recently, Starfire (2014). A former U.S. Air Force captain, he can often be found flying his own plane in the skies of the United States.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Tiger's Claw 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dale Brown, you just screwed thousands of your loyal readers! Bradley is not ready yet to carry a book yet. Yeah, hes young and got his feet wet in TIGER'S CLAW but definately not ready. Somehow a grateful nation must pay him back by getting him back into the academy. Ever since FLIGHT OF THE OLD DOG every book I read gets compared to it. This book got a little choppy in places and almost lost direction in a few others but the General was always there to put it back into perspective. Now that he is gone what or who will fly the pieced together airframes (borrowed or just out right stolen) and save the world from complete distruction? Superman? A good book with a few rough spots and the ever present lets wrap the story and end it in 2 pages and go home. Don't think you will be disappointed to read this one. Just 4 stars, could have been a high 3 or a low 5. 4 is just more truthful to me.
willy4castr More than 1 year ago
This is a book that all fans of Dale Brown and Patrick McLanahan need to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read almost every book Brown has written. This one is 90% back story and 10% action...I found it pretty boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always been a fan in the past,but this book is seeped in laborious details that go nowhere! One of the most boring books i have read in a long tome. Not worth the time or money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
People want to read reviews so people can decide whether or not they are going to buy the book. This isn't a chat room
adm_caine1812 More than 1 year ago
For Fans of this series it is another of Dale Brown's edge of your seat thrill ride. Just finished this yesterday and as with all of his other books, came away with the feeling that I'd just been on a supersonic flight with "The General". Sad to see that he has killed off the main character. However, he did set up his replacement to continue to carry the torch. Enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hard to put down!
edlawson99 More than 1 year ago
His last two books keep you on your toes the whole time. Unexpected ending but maybe not. Love his books.
Chevytman More than 1 year ago
Hated to put the book down..as usual he did a wonderful job..please keep up the work!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iam not very damn good at writtin reviews, bbut this is a good novel./.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Writen as a screen play not a novel. Don't waste your money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHERE IS CROWLAN AND ASHCLAN???!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey so ashclan is part of the pact clans, amd we dont ro with you... so if you post at our camp its godmodding, SO STAY THE FU<_>CK OUT *cough* RAINPELT *cough* to Twilightstar- please keep yo' warriors in check, thanks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would ya mind returing the herbs that RAINPELT stole?!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont have a name will you take care of me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*He lays down*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Burns the camp down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Camp was moved to fable haven res 1 due to the many blockages from camps.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cause a ruckus at emberclan's camp. Forest echo res2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She immediately pads into her den, retrieving some marigold.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the book wish it had more action but still overall liked it. You can see he put a good amount of work in the characters I have never read his other books but I am sure they were good. Overall I liked this book but like I said before I wished it had more action. My favorite part was the part when the F-22 Raptors took on the J-20s. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago