Twice Promised (Blue Willow Brides Series #2)

Twice Promised (Blue Willow Brides Series #2)

4.5 11
by Maggie Brendan

View All Available Formats & Editions

Seeing how successful her older sister's "mail order marriage" has been and longing to strike out on her own, Greta Olsen answers an ad for a mail order bride in Central City, Colorado. But when she meets Jess Gifford, owner of a thriving mercantile, she begins to harbor doubts. He didn't place the ad to begin with and his business in a busy mining town

…  See more details below


Seeing how successful her older sister's "mail order marriage" has been and longing to strike out on her own, Greta Olsen answers an ad for a mail order bride in Central City, Colorado. But when she meets Jess Gifford, owner of a thriving mercantile, she begins to harbor doubts. He didn't place the ad to begin with and his business in a busy mining town leaves him little time or energy for love. To compound her troubles, she was not the only bride to answer the ad! Will either bride strike the match she hopes for?

Filled with amusing and awkward situations that will keep the reader interested and guessing, Twice Promised is another sweet romance from Maggie Brendan.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Greta Olsen answers an ad for a mail-order bride and travels to Black Hawk, CO, to meet her prospective husband. But she is as surprised as Jess Gifford, who swears he didn't place the ad. And Greta learns that she is not the only woman who answered the ad. Now she has to decide if Jess and his busy life as a shop owner are what she really wants. Even if they are, will she be the bride he chooses? VERDICT This second "Blue Willow Brides" inspirational romance (after Deeply Devoted) moves along at a relaxed pace and should appeal to fans of Jody Hedlund and Kim Vogel Sawyer.

Product Details

Baker Publishing Group
Publication date:
Blue Willow Brides Series, #2
Edition description:
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Twice Promised: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 11 reviews.
JoHuddleston More than 1 year ago
With her words Maggie Brendan weaves a quaint plot in the area of mail-order brides. The two brides-to-be are quite the opposite in disposition with both being sweet but confused. The two grooms-to-be are brothers but also have opposite dispositions. As all the ends are tied together, this is a romance story with twists and turns that will keep you guessing even though you’re pretty sure you’ve figured out the ending.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two mail-order brides discover they have been corresponding with the same man. Read to discover how these two women work out their predicament.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this authors stories and the history in them
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Maggie Brendan's third and final installment in The Blue Willow Brides series, Perfectly Matched, again takes up the idea of mail order brides in the old west. Set in Denver, Colorado in 1888, readers are treated to a storyline that centers around a young unorganized woman, to a man whose life is completely ordered. The obstacles between them take up a great portion of the book, as they learn to embrace their differences and accept each other for who they are. Brendan also explores the mistreatment of animals as the heroine starts to set up her own animal shelter. .  The Blue Willow Brides series has followed the lives of three sisters, all of whom, have become mail order brides. . Brendan has taken this idea and really ran with it. I like the fact that Brendan chose to put the marriage of Edward and Anna at the beginning of the book. They are going to have to figure out a way for this to work. Brendan shows readers all of the difficulties involved in this kind of union. The couples barely know each other, they have only corresponded by mail. They are going into the marriage blind. I liked the fact that Brendan gives readers the historical significance, as well as, the emotional significance.  Anna was certainly a free-spirited young woman. She was not accustomed to running a household and had her own ideas about how it should be done. She would rather have spent her time on other passions. I loved the way she respected animals and wanted to stop the mistreatment she encounters. Her dream of setting up an animal shelter is one that resonated with me. I think readers who love animals will identify with this character and her struggles. Anna was different from Edward, spontaneous and  zealous for life. She was a wonderful character and Brendan did an excellent job of showing how she begins to learn compromise and how to accept Edward for who he is. Edward, Edward, Edward... There is so much to say about this character. I admit to having a hard time getting into him as the hero of the book. He is a clockmaker and jeweler. His life is order and somewhat obsessive compulsive. He wants things to have a place and everything has to be in it's place. He wants his household run a certain way without exception. He is the complete opposite of Anna. He doesn't like the animals because of the hair and messes they make and he doesn't understand a lot of Anna's ways. But the redeeming quality about Edward is that he is determined to make this marriage a success. Edward wants to show Anna every kindness he can. He may not like her animal shelter but he doesn't hinder her. I liked the fact that both characters had their flaws and Brendan was able to show readers an underlying theme of compromise and making a marriage work despite the obstacles that come up. Overall I think Brendan's attempt to show that marriage is more than just giving it a try was very successful. It is a commitment that both people make to each other and to God. I think in today's society we give up way to easily. I'm not saying that there are not times when circumstances make it impossible for couples to stay together, but for the most part, people are going into marriage with the idea that if it doesn't work out, they'll just move on to the next one. Brendan is showing a couple who are so very different yet they are able to compromise and come together to make their marriage work. I liked the fact that eventually these two find common ground and a deep love for each other. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent continuation of Maggie Brendan's series "The Blue Willow Brides." It is a story of how one brother put out 2 ads for mail-order brides for his brother. The two brides arrive in town on the same day and the adventure, humor and love stories begin. There are tender moments as well as humerous moments in the story, and I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DianaFlow More than 1 year ago
Tender Romantic Tale! In Twice Promised, author Maggie Brendan pens a heartwarming tale of adventure and romance set against the backdrop of the beautiful snow capped, purple peaks of the Rocky Mountains in the late 1800's. Our lovely heroine from Holland, Greta Olsen arrives in Colorado to meet her intended, Jess Gifford, in response to a mail order bride advertisement, unaware that his brother Zach is the one she has been corresponding with and not Jess. Jess and Zach run a mercantile store and Zach, wanting to build his own ranch and get out of the business takes it upon himself to pick not one! -- but two lovely ladies for his brother to choose from. As both brides arrive at the same time to meet Jess, anger, confusion, and rivalry set in, until the brothers' granny picks the perfect solution to the problem -- the woman who drinks from the beautiful Dutch Blue Willow teacup will be courted by Zach, the other who picks the rose teacup will be courted by Jess. But can true love and someone's destiny be determined by a teacup? Or are more troubles on the horizon for the two couples? And when Jess's ex-girlfriend, Agnes, arrives, will that throw another kink in the plans? And it is as each one ultimately relies on the Lord, and begins trusting in His plan that everything works together for the good. Maggie Brendan is a wonderful author and has written a totally different take in the typical mail order brides stories with one too many brides to choose from. This was a lighthearted, heartwarming, relaxing read, with several twists and turns. Each character was a delight and I love how they evolved throughout the story, especially Cora, the other bride, who seemingly had nothing going for her but her beauty. Beautifully written, this is a fun read and definitely one for your keeper's shelf!
sherrijinga More than 1 year ago
Twice Promised by Maggie Brendan is the second book in her Blue Willow Brides series. This story is delightful! It’s a mail-order bride story. But don’t be fooled. It’s not your normal mail-order bride tale. In this book, there are two mail-order brides but only one groom who has no idea, thanks to his brother, that these ladies are coming to turn his world upside down. There’s a clever grandma who sees right through the actions of her two grandsons and right into their hearts. There’s a sprinkling of characters throughout the book and you’re not sure who will end up with who—or whether anyone will marry at all. Maggie Brendan has a wonderful way of creating believable characters and keeping you guessing. Every time I thought I had the romance figured out, she’d throw me for a loop again. Such a fun read! Here’s the description: Two beautiful brides. One unsuspecting groom. Three weeks to figure it all out. Greta Olsen arrives in Central City, Colorado, as a mail-order bride, expecting to marry Jess Gifford, the man she's come to know through his tender letters. But when she meets Cora Johnson, she discovers she's not the only bride waiting at the train station for Jess. Already shocked to find they must compete for Jess's affection, the young women can hardly believe it when not Jess but his brother Zach picks them up from the station—and reveals that Jess knows nothing about any mail-order bride, let alone two. Will either bride make the match she hopes for? Filled with surprises, misunderstandings, and tender romance, Twice Promised is the story of how two unlikely women become twice blessed.