Whim

Overview

WHIM tells the story of a very Magical Indian boy who finds that he has been sent to earth by his Father Lord Chance to discover the Big U.T.-ultimate truth. As a high school football star just discovering sex, Whim is distracted from his quest by being in love with the brainy, sexy but very moral Dawn, and also by his rival Billy Best, who wants to discover u.t. so he can market it and make a bundle. The novel is filled with Zen-like encounters between Whim and his Montauk mentor Grain-of-Sand; Narsufin, the ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $11.34   
  • New (6) from $11.34   
  • Used (2) from $11.52   
Whim

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price

Overview

WHIM tells the story of a very Magical Indian boy who finds that he has been sent to earth by his Father Lord Chance to discover the Big U.T.-ultimate truth. As a high school football star just discovering sex, Whim is distracted from his quest by being in love with the brainy, sexy but very moral Dawn, and also by his rival Billy Best, who wants to discover u.t. so he can market it and make a bundle. The novel is filled with Zen-like encounters between Whim and his Montauk mentor Grain-of-Sand; Narsufin, the great black Sufi sage famous for his hook shot; and the Abominable Snowman Sage of the Himalayas. In the end Whim finds his u.t., saves the Montauk nation, and wins the heart (and all other bodily parts) of his beloved Dawn.

"One of my favorite reads of the year . . . Pure entertainment"
- Belfast Telegraph;
"Anarchic, hip, subversive and comic . . . " - The Times, London;

One of the great comic novels of the decade, (WHIM) is pure delight, a book with a smile built into just about every line. In Whim Rhinehart gives us an innocent abroad in the tradition of Candide, Don Quixote and Michael Valentine Smith, while the comments of Billy, his pompous father, and the highly moral Dawn provide hilarious counterpoint to events in Whim's life.

--Peter Tennant, reviewing all of Luke's books in The Third Alternative, Issue 27.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781493653041
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publication date: 12/28/2013
  • Pages: 338
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Luke Rhinehart is the acclaimed author of nine works of fiction, including most notably THE DICE MAN. In 1995, the BBC called that book one of the fifty most influential books of the last half of the twentieth century," and Loaded Magazine honored it in 1999 by naming it "Novel of the Century". Last year the London Telegraph named it one of the 50 great cult books of the last hundred years. Although first published 40 years ago, the book has been rediscovered in the 21st century, being published or republished in more than 60 countries and translated into 26 languages. It is currently selling more copies than ever and, amazingly, this resurgence of interest is led by young people--readers under 25.

His books SEARCH FOR THE DICE MAN, WHIM and THE BOOK OF THE DIE are also comic and philosophical dramatizations of his ideas, although each unique in its own right.In addition, over the years dozens of pieces of music have been inspired by Luke's ideas, including "Six Different Ways" by The Cure; "Dice Man" by The Fall; "Random I Am" by Millencolin; "Slaughter Of The Soul" by At the Gates; "X, Y and Zee" by Pop Will Eat Itself; "Black Diary" by Jameson; and "Such a Shame" by Talk Talk.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)