Announcing the 2018 National Book Award Finalists!

This morning the National Book Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2018 National Book Awards in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Books in Translation and Young Peoples’ Literature.

Click here to browse all of the 2018 National Book Award Finalists.

Selected from these lists of five finalists in each category, the winners will be named at the annual National Book Awards ceremony on November 14, 2018.


Jamel Brinkley, A Lucky Man
Graywolf Press

Lauren Groff, Florida
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House

Brandon Hobson, Where the Dead Sit Talking
Soho Press

Rebecca Makkai, The Great Believers
Viking Books / Penguin Random House

Sigrid Nunez, The Friend
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House












Colin G. Calloway, The Indian World of George Washington: The First President, the First Americans, and the Birth of the Nation
Oxford University Press

Victoria Johnson, American Eden: David Hosack, Botany, and Medicine in the Garden of the Early Republic
Liveright / W. W. Norton & Company

Sarah Smarsh, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth
Scribner / Simon & Schuster

Jeffrey C. Stewart, The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke
Oxford University Press

Adam Winkler, We the Corporations: How American Businesses Won Their Civil Rights
Liveright / W. W. Norton & Company













Rae Armantrout, Wobble
Wesleyan University Press

Terrance Hayes, American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin
Penguin Books / Penguin Random House

Diana Khoi Nguyen, Ghost Of
Omnidawn Publishing

Justin Phillip Reed, Indecency
Coffee House Press

Jenny Xie, Eye Level
Graywolf Press











Négar Djavadi, Disoriental
Translated by Tina Kover
Europa Editions

Hanne Ørstavik, Love
Translated by Martin Aitken
Archipelago Books

Domenico Starnone, Trick
Translated by Jhumpa Lahiri
Europa Editions

Yoko Tawada, The Emissary
Translated by Margaret Mitsutani
New Directions Publishing

Olga Tokarczuk, Flights
Translated by Jennifer Croft
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House











Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X
HarperTeen / HarperCollins Publishers

T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin, The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge
Candlewick Press

Leslie Connor, The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
Katherine Tegen Books / HarperCollins Publishers

Christopher Paul Curtis, The Journey of Little Charlie
Scholastic Press / Scholastic, Inc.

Jarrett J. Krosoczka, Hey, Kiddo
Graphix / Scholastic, Inc.





Browse all of the 2018 National Book Award Finalists here.


Shop the Bookstore >

Follow BNReads