Five New Graphic Novel Series Your Kids Won’t Want to Miss

So, your kid has read all the Wimpy Kid books (including Rowley Jefferson’s Awesome Friendly Adventure), devoured everything ever written and illustrated by Raina Telgemeier, and can’t get enough Dog Man—you’re not alone. Graphic Novels for young readers are having a moment and it’s about time! We’ve seen some incredible new series in recent years and with the 2020 Newbery Medal going to Jerry Craft’s New Kid this past January, more and more readers are flocking to this appealing medium. While Graphic Novels offer a more visual way for kids to interpret and explore stories, they’re also just a lot of fun—and reading should be FUN. So, if you’re looking for what to read next, check out these new series that include everything from a mechanical superhero dog to a grumpy unicorn.

 

Agent Moose
Mo O’Hara, Jess Bradley (Illustrator)

Agent Moose and his trusty sidekick, Owlfred, are either the best or worst secret agents in the Big Forest and they’re on the case in this hilarious, new, full-color graphic novel from the author of My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish. This bright and engaging story, complete with its witty detective duo, is perfect for fans of Inspector Flytrap and The Chicken Squad and is one laugh-out-loud read you’ll want to join in on with your kids.

Sparks! Double Dog Dare
Ian Boothby, Nina Matsumoto (Illustrator)

This story about two cats that dress up in a mechanical dog suit to save the planet is wildly entertaining and one you won’t want to miss. In this second installment, cats Charlie and August are back controlling mechanical superhero dog, Sparks, when an evil impostor arrives to rue the day. This sequel is full of the witty humor we’ve come to expect from the Sparks series and is perfect for fans of Catstronauts.

Grumpy Unicorn Hits the Road
Joey Spiotto

Grumpy Unicorn is the magical grouch you’ve been waiting for.  You may remember this delightful creature from Grumpy Unicorn: Why Me? and if you loved him there, you will love this brand-new graphic novel series that follows his wacky adventures as he sets off on a road trip to find something, anything (or anyone!) that doesn’t totally annoy him.

Kingdom Caper 
Brett Bean

Zany animals, wild adventures and surprising mysteries—what’s not to love? The Zoo Patrol Squad has arrived and they are ready to solve the case. Perfect for fans of InvestiGators and Dog Man, readers will love this new series following the Squad as they uncover the truth behind the missing animals at Wild Zoo Yonder.

Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker
J. C. Phillipps

When Pacey’s little sister is kidnapped, she teams up with her sister’s stuffed unicorn to rescue her from the magical unicorn land, Rundalyn. Full of twists and turns, this fun adventure will leave you wondering what your stuffed animals are really up to when you’re not around. With a perfect mix of attitude and wit, this series is a must-read for fans of Babymouse and Real Friends.

Comments are closed.

Follow BNReads