Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
A Bright and Blinding Sun: A World War II Story of Survival, Love, and Redemption

A Bright and Blinding Sun: A World War II Story of Survival, Love, and Redemption

by Marcus Brotherton
A Bright and Blinding Sun: A World War II Story of Survival, Love, and Redemption

A Bright and Blinding Sun: A World War II Story of Survival, Love, and Redemption

by Marcus Brotherton

Hardcover

$30.00
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 28

Overview

From a New York Times bestselling author comes the incredible true story of an underage soldier's first love and loss on the battlefields of Bataan and Corregidor—perfect for fans of The Boy Who Followed His Father into Auschwitz and Unbroken.

Joe Johnson Jr. ran away from home at the age of 12, hopping a freight train at the height of the Great Depression. He managed to talk his way into the U.S. Army two years later. Seeking freedom and adventure, he was sent to the Philippines.  

Adrift in spirit, Joe visited a teenage prostitute, and they became unlikely, smitten allies. Yet when the Japanese attacked on December 8, 1941, their hopes of being together had to wait.  

Joe and his fellow soldiers fought for four brutal months in Bataan and Corregidor, until they were forced to surrender. The boy endured years of horror as a prisoner of war, only dreaming about seeing again the girl he’d come to love. 

This lyrically written and deeply encouraging saga will remind you that every life can be lifted, forgiveness is the patron of restoration, and redemption is available to all. 



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316318914
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 05/24/2022
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 119,539
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.50(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Marcus Brotherton is a New York Times bestselling author and coauthor dedicated to writing books that inspire heroics, promote empathy, and encourage noble living. Four of Marcus’ books are New York Times bestsellers, five are national bestsellers, four have been optioned for movies, two have received Booklist Starred Reviews, and one is an international bestseller. His books have also appeared on USA Today, Publisher’s Weekly, Wall Street Journal, and ECPA bestseller lists. Born in British Columbia, Marcus earned a bachelor’s degree from Multnomah University in Portland, Oregon, and a master’s degree from Biola University in Los Angeles, where he graduated with high honors. He lives with his wife and their three children in the Pacific Northwest.

Table of Contents

Map ix

Part I

1 Little Bird Walking 7

2 Last Days of Boyhood 15

3 Where Sea and Sky Meet 28

4 Lost Babes in the Woods 43

5 The Girl Named Perpetua 57

6 She'll Make You a Star 72

Part II

7 Horizon of Hurt 93

8 Digging the Ashes 110

9 Ache from the Hacienda 125

10 Final Days of Bataan 135

11 So Utterly Alone 148

Part III

12 Prerogative of Madness 169

13 The Bilibid Prison Respite 186

14 Three Ships from Hell 199

15 Under the Cold Ground 212

16 Emancipation 227

17 A Time to Heal 236

Acknowledgments 259

A Note on Sources 261

Notes 267

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items