A Closed and Common Orbit

A Closed and Common Orbit

by Becky Chambers

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera—the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for—and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062569400
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/14/2017
Series: Wayfarers Series , #2
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 42,014
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.86(d)

About the Author

Becky Chambers was raised in California as the progeny of an astrobiology educator, an aerospace engineer, and an Apollo-era rocket scientist. An inevitable space enthusiast, she made the obvious choice of studying performing arts. After a few years in theater administration, she shifted her focus toward writing. Her creative work has appeared at The Mary Sue, Tor.com, Five Out Of Ten, The Toast, and Pornokitsch. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet is her first novel, and was funded in 2012 thanks to a successful Kickstarter campaign.

After living in Scotland and Iceland, Becky is now back in her home state, where she lives with her partner. She is an ardent proponent of video and tabletop games, and enjoys spending time in nature. She hopes to see Earth from orbit one day.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Closed and Common Orbit 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun to read. A great followup to the first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book a very enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know I like a book. When I don't want it to end. Thank you for a great escape . I can't wait to see what will be next .
Anonymous 9 months ago
This book was okay. It was always whining.Needed some fun and positivity.
Anonymous 11 months ago
I’ve reread ORBIT twice in the last couple of weeks, then gone back and reread LONG WAY. I just don’t want to let go of the Galactic Commons, and these characters. ORBIT will be regarded as a touchstone AI novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the first book was near perfect, but somehow this is even better. If you like to have lots of feelings about AI and what it means to be sentient, this is the book for you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like the first of the series, this book manages to be a warm, kind, hopeful view of the future in a setting you want visit with people you want to meet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very sweet, stand alone sequel. Wonderful characters and a unique universe in both books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting examination of Artificial Intelligence, sentience, and personhood wrapped in two interwoven stories full of heart and soul. Hard to put down. This series is an utter delight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The writing the style is amazing. I loved the Jane chapters!!!!!! I would love to see the whole crew together in that ship again soon.
Anonymous 12 months ago
I stole these words from above reviews because they all apply. I myself am almost speechless with wonder at the talent of this author. Initally disappointed that the setting didn't take place on/with the crew of the Wayfarer. The characters are familiar from the first book, but they were not the main ones. Even so, within a very few pages I was hooked and could not put it down. I always recommend reading books in the order the author wrote them, but these 2 books stand alone just fine. Cannot recommend either one highly enough.