A Curious Menagerie: Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

A Curious Menagerie: Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

by Carin Berger

Hardcover

$17.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4

Overview

From a flamboyance of flamingos to a mischief of mice, this gorgeous picture book introduces readers to sixty collective animal nouns in a fun and unusual way!

Illustrated with show-stopping collage art by acclaimed author-illustrator Carin Berger, A Curious Menagerie is a delightfully engaging read-aloud sure to delight and expand vocabularies.

In this extraordinary picture book, acclaimed and award-winning author-illustrator Carin Berger introduces readers to sixty unusual and engaging collective nouns, from an ambush of tigers to a loveliness of ladybugs.

With stunning collage artwork and a playful and educational text, this is a perfect choice for storytime as well as bedtime sharing. A Curious Menagerie is just right for fans of Peter Reynolds and Mac Barnett. A note about the origin of the collective nouns featured in the book is included.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062644572
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/11/2019
Pages: 40
Product dimensions: 9.30(w) x 11.40(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Carin Berger is an award-winning designer and illustrator. Her cut-paper collages are made using ephemera, such as catalogues, old books, receipts, letters, and ticket stubs. In a starred review, Kirkus said of her Forever Friends, “Sophisticated, sensitive, and accessible, this picture book will offer new insights and pleasures with each season.” The Little Yellow Leaf was a 2008 New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books selection, and in starred reviews, Publishers Weekly called her A Perfect Day “lovely” and her Finding Spring “exceptional.” She is also the illustrator of the acclaimed Stardines Swim High Across the Sky and Behold the Bold Umbrellaphant, both by Jack Prelutsky, among other books. She lives with her family in New York City. www.carinberger.com


Carin Berger is an award-winning designer and illustrator. Her cut-paper collages are made using ephemera, such as catalogues, old books, receipts, letters, and ticket stubs. In a starred review, Kirkus said of her Forever Friends, “Sophisticated, sensitive, and accessible, this picture book will offer new insights and pleasures with each season.” The Little Yellow Leaf was a 2008 New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books selection, and in starred reviews, Publishers Weekly called her A Perfect Day “lovely” and her Finding Spring “exceptional.” She is also the illustrator of the acclaimed Stardines Swim High Across the Sky and Behold the Bold Umbrellaphant, both by Jack Prelutsky, among other books. She lives with her family in New York City. www.carinberger.com

Customer Reviews