A Daughter's Journey: A compelling and atmospheric saga of love and ambition

A Daughter's Journey: A compelling and atmospheric saga of love and ambition

by Lyn Andrews

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A young woman sets out from Ireland for Liverpool in the 1950s and finds success as a fashion designer... but will she find love too?

A Daughter's Journey is a poignant saga from Lyn Andrews that follows a young woman as she finds her independence, before heartache threatens to take it away. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn.


Angela O'Rourke is six when her parents hand her over to an aunt and uncle in a distant village. It's a common practice for large, hard-up families in 1950s Ireland, but for Angela it means that her mother and father don't love her any more.

Angela is well cared for until she's sixteen, but then her uncle takes to drink, and it's not safe for her to stay in his house. Moving to Liverpool in the early 1960s, she begins to make her mark in the world of fashion design. But the pain of a disastrous love affair sends her home to Ireland just after the death of her aunt: and there, among old papers, Angela makes an astonishing discovery. As she learns the truth about the past, a brighter new future beckons.

What readers are saying about A Daughter's Journey:

'What a fantastic book. The best book I've read in a long time. Great story from start to finish and well written'

'A great, heart-warming read for a Sunday afternoon'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780755374427
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 11/26/2009
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 551 KB

About the Author

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
Facebook: @LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @lynandrewsbooks

Customer Reviews