A Fond Hope: A novel of the Civil War and female spies

A Fond Hope: A novel of the Civil War and female spies

by Vanessa Lind
A Fond Hope: A novel of the Civil War and female spies

A Fond Hope: A novel of the Civil War and female spies

by Vanessa Lind

eBook

$4.99 

Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A fascinating historical novel of grit, valor, and resilience

October 1864. After years of spying for the Union, Hattie Logan longs for victory and a chance to start a new life with Lieutenant John Elliott. But when her brother, George, summons her to Canada, she discovers how desperate the Rebels are to prevail.

When the famous actor John Wilkes Booth and a mysterious veiled lady rouse Hattie's suspicions, she tells herself she's only imagining trouble. But then George is poisoned, and Hattie finds herself embroiled in a web involving some of the South's most powerful figures. Joining forces with Booth's former lover Alice Gray, she tracks down the dangerous men—and women—who'll stop at nothing to have their way.

The trails Hattie follows lead her to a startling revelation: there's a plot afoot involving President Abraham Lincoln. The logical course—and the easiest—is to discount her suspicions. But if she ignores what her heart says is true, the future she envisions may well be lost.

A gripping tale of courage, devotion, and hope during the turbulent final months of America's Civil War. Perfect for readers of Lisa Wingate, Martha Hall Kelly, and Glen Craney.

Book Four of the Secrets of the Blue and Gray series featuring women spies in the American Civil War.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940186773924
Publisher: Vanessa Lind Books
Publication date: 01/19/2023
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 363,030
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Vanessa Lind loves writing about strong women from the past, especially the ones who’ve got a secret or two. She enjoys heartfelt stories that keep readers turning pages with characters that aren’t easily forgotten.

Vanessa grew up in Illinois but has since migrated to the Pacific Northwest, where she lives near a town rich in history (and breweries). She has a serious book-buying problem, never turns down a cup of tea, and gets her best ideas while walking her boxer dog. Her goal in life, besides writing unforgettable books, is to be a good ancestor.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews