B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
A Massive Collection, Volume 1 [Gold Hardcover]: A Personal Selection of Columbus Crew Stories

A Massive Collection, Volume 1 [Gold Hardcover]: A Personal Selection of Columbus Crew Stories

by Steve Sirk


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


Historian Steve Sirk has delighted Columbus Crew fans for more than two decades by writing with humor, heart, and humanity about the first club in Major League Soccer. "A Massive Collection, Volume 1" is the first wide-ranging collection of his work, featuring long-lost stories dating as far as back 1997, plus many popular favorites from over the years.

Whether it's profiles spanning the likes of Mark Dougherty, Frankie Hejduk, or Josh Williams; surreal moments such as the 1996 pitch invasion or the 2013 scoreboard fire; big events like the 2002 U.S. Open Cup championship or hosting MLS Cup 2015; or even absurdities like an oral history of several players' 2013 preseason visit to Medieval Times, this fully-annotated collection touches on numerous aspects of Crew history, big and small.

Also among the 43 stories are three features exclusive to the book, including a Crew-focused look at club founder Lamar Hunt and the mind-boggling story of how rapper Biz Markie became a viral-video ally of the #SaveTheCrew movement.

Like Sirk's two previous titles—"A Massive Season" and "Kirk Urso: Forever Massive"—"A Massive Collection, Volume 1" figures to be an essential addition to any Columbus Crew fan's bookshelf.

NOTE: This is an independent publication, not an official Columbus Crew publication.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781078748056
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Press
Publication date: 11/24/2019
Pages: 290
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.69(d)

About the Author

Steve Sirk has covered the Columbus Crew since 1998. He was written three books about the club: A Massive Season (2009), Kirk Urso: Forever Massive (2014),and now A Massive Collection, Volume 1 (2019).

Customer Reviews