Accused: My Story of Injustice

Accused: My Story of Injustice

by Adama Bah
Accused: My Story of Injustice

Accused: My Story of Injustice

by Adama Bah


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, December 5
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Launching a propulsive middle grade nonfiction series, a young woman shares her harrowing experience of being wrongly accused of terrorism.

Adama Bah grew up in East Harlem after immigrating from Conakry, Guinea, and was deeply connected to her community and the people who lived there. But as a thirteen-year-old after the events of September 11, 2001, she began experiencing discrimination and dehumanization as prejudice toward Muslim people grew. Then, on March 24, 2005, FBI agents arrested Adama and her father. Falsely accused of being a potential suicide bomber, Adama spent weeks in a detention center being questioned under suspicion of terrorism.

With sharp and engaging writing, Adama recounts the events surrounding her arrest and its impact on her life—the harassment, humiliation, and persecution she faced for crimes she didn’t commit. Accused brings forward a crucial and unparalleled first-person perspective of American culture post-9/11 and the country’s discrimination against Muslim Americans, and heralds the start of a new series of compelling narrative nonfiction by young people, for young people.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781324030409
Publisher: Norton Young Readers
Publication date: 08/09/2022
Series: I, Witness
Pages: 112
Sales rank: 671,015
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Adama Bah’s experiences have been featured in Patriot Acts, a book about post-9/11 injustices, and Adama, a short documentary film. She lives in New York with her husband and family.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

Chapter 1 Unsheltered 7

Chapter 2 Taken 17

Chapter 3 Questioned 27

Chapter 4 Framed 37

Chapter 5 Violated 47

Chapter 6 Bargained 57

Chapter 7 Changed 65

Chapter 8 Freed 75

Continue the Discussion 85

Get Involved 91

Timeline 93

Author's Acknowledgments 99

Editors' Acknowledgments 103

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews