Across the Bridge

Across the Bridge

by Drew Emmitt


$15.35 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.35, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Across the Bridge

As lead singer and mandolinist for the acclaimed jam band Leftover Salmon, Drew Emmitt is at least partially responsible for putting Colorado on the acoustic music map. His second solo album finds him teamed up with an interesting array of bluegrass and newgrass luminaries, including Del McCoury (harmony vocals) and Ronnie McCoury (mandolin), Jim Lauderdale (with whom Emmitt wrote several of the songs on this program), fiddler Stuart Duncan, and fiddler/mandolinist Sam Bush. Singer John Cowan is here as well, but luckily he leaves most of his customary faux-soul-man histrionics at the door, contributing harmony vocals only. The material is a combination of fairly traditional bluegrass (Emmitt and Lauderdale's very fine "This House"), newgrass-style instrumental originals ("Big Ice," "Silvanite"), and border-transgressing fusion numbers (like an acoustic funk arrangement of Bob Dylan's blues-based "Meet Me in the Morning" and a laid-back arrangement of Little Feat's "All That You Dream"). This album would be rated more highly if Emmitt were a stronger singer, but as it is it's sure to appeal to fans of his band and of adventurous acoustic music in general.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/19/2005
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397441023
catalogNumber: 974410
Rank: 226601

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Drew Emmitt   Primary Artist,Mandolin,Vocals,Group Member
Del McCoury   Background Vocals,Tenor (Vocal),Vocal Harmony,Guest Appearance
Sam Bush   Fiddle,Mandolin,Vocals,Rhythm Mandolin,Vocal Harmony
Jim Lauderdale   Background Vocals,Baritone (Vocal),Guest Appearance
Paul Barrére   Vocals,Slide Guitar,Guest Appearance
John Cowan   Background Vocals,Tenor (Vocal),Vocal Harmony,Guest Appearance
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle,Octave Violin,Fretless Banjo,Guest Appearance
Ronnie McCoury   Mandolin,Background Vocals,Baritone (Vocal),Soloist,Guest Appearance
Matt Flinner   Banjo,Bouzouki,Mandolin,Group Member
Greg Garrison   Bass,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Ross Martin   Acoustic Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Jim Lauderdale   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Paul Barrére   Composer
Gary West   Executive Producer
Drew Emmitt   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Matt Flinner   Composer
Jon Pousette-Dart   Composer
Erick Jaskowiak   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews