Dailey & Vincent

Dailey & Vincent

by Dailey & Vincent Dailey & Vincent


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


Bluegrass veterans Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent could have drawn from a deep well of treasured songs for their much-anticipated debut album. Instead, they decided to dig a new well and fill it with contemporary songs worthy of comparison to the ancient tones. Dailey, who has done yeoman work as the lead tenor in Doyle Lawson's Quicksilver, and Vincent (yes, Rhonda's brother and co-producer), a stalwart of Ricky Skaggs' Kentucky Thunder, couldn't have come out of the chute with a stronger debut. The lone chestnut they cover, "Don't You Call My Name," from the Johnson Mountain Boys, gets a spirited treatment that allows for a rowdy fiddle solo from Stuart Duncan, some breathtaking speed-picked banjo work courtesy Joe Dean, and scintillating, high-lonesome vocal trade-offs between Dailey and Vincent. Duncan, Dean, Andy Leftwich (fiddle), Jeff Parker (harmony vocal, mandolin), Byron Sutton and Cody Kilby (guitars) give Dailey and Vincent exemplary instrumental support throughout -- the twin fiddles pining away on the Jimmy Fortunate-penned spiritual "I Believe" are as heart tugging as their moaning is artfully executed. But some of the most effective moments here find the duo stripping it down to their voices accompanied by guitar (Dailey) and mandolin (Vincent). Gillian Welch and David Rawlings's mountain gospel gem, "By the Mark," benefits most from this spare approach, as the two stringed instruments play a steady rhythm and pointed solos behind the two artists' fervent, layered vocal attack; less solemn and foreboding, "Music of the Mountains" is a buoyant reminiscence of the old homestead made doubly resonant by the duo's casual front-porch picking and genial vocalizing. Closing with a jubilant, full-band, southern gospel four-part harmony workout, "Place on Calvary," Dailey & Vincent punch their ticket for a long ride.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/29/2008
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661060425
catalogNumber: 610604
Rank: 2416


  1. Sweet Carrie
  2. More Than a Name on a Wall
  3. Cumberland River
  4. River of Time
  5. By the Mark
  6. Poor Boy Workin' Blues
  7. Take Me Back (And Leave Me There)
  8. My Savior Walks with Me Today
  9. Don't You Call My Name
  10. I Believe
  11. Music of the Mountains
  12. Place on Calvary

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dailey & Vincent   Primary Artist
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Darrin Vincent   Bass,Guitar,Mandolin,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Archguitar
Cody Kilby   Guitar
Bryan Sutton   Guitar
Joe Dean   Banjo
Jeff Parker   Mandolin,Vocals
Jamie Dailey   Guitar,Vocals
Andy Leftwich   Fiddle,Mandolin
Joe Dean   Banjo

Technical Credits

Doyle Lawson   Composer
Ronnie Bowman   Composer
Randall Hylton   Composer
Robert K. Oermann   Liner Notes
Darrin Vincent   Producer,Audio Production
Gillian Welch   Composer
Jimmy Fortune   Composer
David Rawlings   Composer
Steve Chandler   Engineer
Jamie Dailey   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Herb Campbell   Composer
Michael Latterell   Engineer
Lisa Shaffer   Composer

Customer Reviews