Act of Betrayal: A Will Cochrane Novel

Act of Betrayal: A Will Cochrane Novel

by Matthew Dunn

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Act of Betrayal: A Will Cochrane Novel by Matthew Dunn

“The world of spy fiction has a writer who deserves comparison to Ludlum and Fleming.” Booklist on Dark Spies

Three years ago, intelligence officer Will Cochrane was brought in by a Delta Force colonel to eliminate a terrorist financier in Berlin. Cochrane executed the target and slipped away, never meeting the other members of the team. But when the mission was over, the colonel vanished and hasn’t been heard from since. Now, years later, members of the Berlin mission are being targeted for assassination—and one, a CIA agent, is close to discovering the truth when he narrowly escapes an explosive fire that destroys his home. He manages to track down the elusive Will Cochrane, and admits that everything Will has been told about Berlin is a lie.

Will is determined to uncover the truth about the Berlin job. Framed for multiple murders, the former spy has gone deep underground to evade his enemies and the Feds. But honor and loyalty to his colleague thrust him into danger once again. When FBI special agent Marsha Gage discovers that Cochrane—one of America’s Most Wanted—has resurfaced, she immediately launches a manhunt, and she won’t stop until she brings the former CIA/MI6 operative in.

With members of the original Berlin team turning up dead, Cochrane must use all his training and formidable skills to outmaneuver the FBI and uncover a shocking conspiracy that will rock the foundations of our nation . . . if he can stay alive long enough.

“I know of no other spy thriller that so successfully blends the fascinating nuances of the business of espionage and intelligence work with full-throttle suspense storytelling.” —Jeffery Deaver on Spycatcher

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062427236
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/26/2018
Series: A Will Cochrane Novel
Edition description: Reissue
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 100,661
Product dimensions: 4.19(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.86(d)

About the Author

As an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn recruited and ran agents, coordinated and participated in special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He operated in environments where, if captured, he would have been executed. Dunn was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep- cover deployments, small arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration.

Medals are never awarded to modern MI6 officers, but Dunn was the recipient of a rare personal commendation from the secretary of state for work he did on one mission, which was deemed so significant that it directly influenced the success of a major international incident.

During his time in MI6, Matthew conducted approximately seventy missions. All of them were successful. He currently lives in England, where he is at work on his next novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Act of Betrayal: A Will Cochrane Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Great.
Anonymous 10 months ago
A very good thriller! Worth the read.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Fans of Jason Bourne or Ethan Hunt will absolutely LOVE Matthew Dunn's series of novel revolving around Will Cochrane, the ultimate intelligence operative and most lethal most wanted man by our own government. While he had faked his own death, to avoid being captured on many fronts, he is now gone into deeper uncover to avoid being killed, arrested or tortured by those who want what secrets he knows. There is only a handful of trusted individuals whom know that Will is alive, and when a mission that involved Will's skills three years ago, suddenly surfaces, the body counts begin to rise. Will was asked to take out a known financier who had connections to fund known terrorists groups with whatever capital they needed to complete their nefarious acts on unsuspecting countries. He is only provided with enough information to complete this task and go back into hiding. When he is given the signal that the man is confirmed for the hit, Will takes him out and vanishes into the darkness while others cover up the scene of the crime. Without Will's knowledge this was a government conspiracy that involved those in the FBI, CIA and others. The man who was heading up the entire operation, has taken the money and vanished without a trace. Those that know about this operation are simply hoping he has no hopes of returning. They know that more than just their careers are on the line. Yet Will is contacted by a trusted member of that group as it appears this rogue agent has reappeared and plans on removing those who know all about his activities. Before Will has a chance to talk to him, he is murdered and slowly one by one, each of those responsible are being killed before they have a chance to speak about their involvement. Will is in a race against time to stop the one man who just might be his equal, but in doing so, he might have to give up his anonymity and risk being tried, convicted and killed by his own government authorities. I received Act of Betrayal by Matthew Dunn compliments of Partners in Crime Tours and William Morrow Publishers, a division of Harper Collins Publishers. This is the seventh novel in the Will Cochrane series, and once again, it is action packed and never a dull moment and those who are involved seek to run and hide hoping they will survive somehow. It is like a spy versus spy novel and I easily inhaled this one in a few hours. It is simply that good. I don't think I could turn pages fast enough. Love all the deep undercover stuff and the rudimentary ways people are being killed without being able to stop it. Crazy stuff I had never imagined before. Makes one wonder about the true inner workings of our own government and special operations forces. Worth every one of 5 out of 5 stars.
LynchburgMama More than 1 year ago
With everything that is going on in our world, I thoroughly enjoy reading "behind the scenes" - even if it is fiction. I attribute Dunn's ability to create a realistic storyline with characters who are raw, real, and full of human-like emotion to his real-life experience as a MI6 field officer. Cochrane may be one cold-hearted assassin but his compassionate side and loyalty to his friend prove that he's human.  The story is very active and full of detail - perhaps too much for some but I enjoyed getting completely engulfed in the book. There is no denying that corruption goes all the way from the depths of the world to the very top. Cochrane is determined and fated to make the world right again. But there are a lot of obstacles that push his goodwill to the line (and often bounces back and forth across it).  I had to go back and re-read a few parts and even get a little clarification by looking up a few descriptions for further clarification; but, overall, I felt wrapped up in a story pulled from the headlines. I found myself wondering if I could have been able to continue on the path that Cochrane did and maintain being a "good" person deep inside. I received a complimentary copy courtesy of Partners In Crime Book Tours. All opinions are 100% my own.