Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: The Body under the Piano

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: The Body under the Piano

Hardcover

$15.38 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.38, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26

Overview

A smart and charming middle-grade mystery series starring young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, inspired by the imagined life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot. For fans of Lemony Snicket and The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency.

Aggie Morton lives in a small town on the coast of England in 1902. Adventurous and imaginative but deeply shy, Aggie hasn't got much to do since the death of her beloved father . . . until the fateful day when she crosses paths with twelve-year-old Belgian immigrant Hector Perot and discovers a dead body on the floor of the Mermaid Dance Room! As the number of suspects grows and the murder threatens to tear the town apart, Aggie and her new friend will need every tool at their disposal — including their insatiable curiosity, deductive skills and not a little help from their friends — to solve the case before Aggie's beloved dance instructor is charged with a crime Aggie is sure she didn't commit.

Filled with mystery, adventure, an unforgettable heroine and several helpings of tea and sweets, The Body Under the Piano is the clever debut of a new series for middle-grade readers and Christie and Poirot fans everywhere, from a Governor General's Award—nominated author of historical fiction for children.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780735265462
Publisher: Tundra
Publication date: 02/04/2020
Series: Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen Series , #1
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 583,263
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 750L (what's this?)
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

About the Author

Toronto-born MARTHE JOCELYN is the award-winning author and illustrator of over twenty books for children of all ages. Her most recent picture book for Tundra (which she also illustrated), Sam Sorts (2017), was honored by the United States Board on Books for Youth as an Outstanding International Book. Her picture book Hannah's Collections was shortlisted for the Governor General's Literary Award for Illustration, and her novel Mable Riley won the inaugural TD Canadian Children's Literature Award. Marthe is also the 2009 recipient of the prestigious Vicky Metcalf Award for her body of work.

ISABELLE FOLLATH has been a freelance illustrator for advertising agencies, magazines and book publishers for over fifteen years, but her true passion lies in illustrating children's books. She uses pen and ink, watercolor and pencil alongside digital techniques to create her work. She loves drinking an alarming amount of coffee, learning new crafts and looking for the perfect greenish-gold color. Isabelle lives with her family in Switzerland.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: The Body under the Piano 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
JillJemmett 6 days ago
This story imagines what Agatha Christie would have been like as a child solving mysteries. Along with her new friend from Belgium, Hector Perot, she investigates a body found under the piano at her dance studio. This mystery was suspenseful and unpredictable. I couldn’t figure out who was the murderer, so I was surprised at the end. One of the most important clues was saved until right before the end, so there wasn’t any way to figure it out until then, but I was still surprised. I wish this book was around when I was a kid. I loved Agatha Christie and Nancy Drew mysteries. This book combines them, with a young detective, who is also an inspiring writer. I loved this first book in the Aggie Morton series. I’m excited to read the next one! Thank you Penguin Random House Canada for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous 14 days ago
I really enjoyed the characters in the The Body under the Piano and loved Aggie’s descriptions of her observations. I appreciated the thoughtful commentary on society in 1902 including the treatment of “foreigners” and women. The first half was a little slow for me. I was interested in the characters but found myself easily distracted and choosing other occupations of my free time. I could not put it down once I got into the second half. I didn’t figure it out until nearly the end and had to keep going to find out what became of everyone. Really good. A solid four stars. I received an advance copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley.
KarenfromDothan 15 days ago
Reminiscent of Agatha Christie, this new novel for middle-grade readers and up is a real treat for mystery lovers. Agatha “Aggie” Morton, aged 12, is a shy young lady, with few friends and an active imagination. One Saturday after dance class she accidentally meets Hector Perot, also 12, newly arrived from Belgium. When Aggie discovers a corpse lying beneath a piano at Miss Marianne’s dance studio, she and Hector join forces to find the killer and save her beloved dance instructor. From highly regarded children’s author Marthe Jocelyn comes another outstanding book for young readers. The characters call to mind Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot as young children. Aggie is already writing poetry and is forever devising new turns of phrase. Hector is a fastidious fussbudget who loves to think logically. Even his speech pattern reminds one of Poirot. I loved all the characters save Roddy Fusswell who is a real jerk. Grannie Jane is a standout. She’s no fool and helps Aggie with her wise counsel. The author has done an excellent job of portraying 1902 Torquay, England where the story is set and where Agatha Christie grew up. It’s the end of the Victorian era and you really get a feel for the period from the author’s descriptions of the clothing worn, the food consumed, to the manner of mourning. I even found the bathing huts for women to be fascinating. Something I never knew about. The story also calls attention to how women and immigrants were regarded, the few rights and opportunities afforded them. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction and a good murder mystery will want to add this clever whodunit to their reading list. It’s very, very good.
JavierFP 20 days ago
People who know me well will know that I will read anything Agatha Christie, either her novels, biographies, stories inspired by her books or fiction stories where she’s the main character, so when I found out about the Aggie Morton Series, and how the main characters were both fictional versions of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot when they were kids, I jumped at the chance to request an early copy, and I’m so glad I did. When I saw this was categorized as children’s fiction and middle grade I was expecting a simple story, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a well developed mystery, touching on some topics I wasn’t expecting to find on a story for kids as women’s right to vote, illegitimate children or women’s tactics to go into jobs they were not allowed at the time. Aggie and Hector were a great tandem, showing traits of her “real” life counterparts easily recognazible to Mrs. Christie fans. As it was written from Aggie’s point of view, young readers will relate and feel like the detectives of the story, trying to solve the clues Aggie keeps on finding to guess the murderer.