Ash Princess (Ash Princess Series #1)

Ash Princess (Ash Princess Series #1)

by Laura Sebastian

Hardcover

$15.95 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $15.95, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781524767068
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 04/24/2018
Series: Ash Princess Series , #1
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 2,666
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Laura Sebastian grew up in South Florida and attended Savannah College of Art and Design. She now lives and writes in New York City. Ash Princess is her first novel. To learn more about Laura and her book, follow @sebastian_lk on Twitter.

Read an Excerpt

“Thora!”
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Ash Princess"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Laura Sebastian.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Children's Books.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ash Princess (Ash Princess Series #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I couldn't put it down and read it in a matter of 2.5 hours and then immediately went to try and find the next book. Gah, it can't come out soon enough. I read 3-4 books a week, and this captured my jaded and recently fickle interest in a way that hasn't happened in months. Well done! This is the first review I have ever posted for a book and I have over 5000+ in my collections.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like red queen series you will like this book
Laura_JB More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reading this book the moment I picked it up. Laura Sebastian snares you on page 1, and the action and stakes keep building and building until it’s 4 am and you are awed and shocked and full of all the feelings, so glad to have stayed up all night reading. Theo is everything you want in a heroine: determined, gritty, clever, ready to do whatever it takes to help not just herself and her friends but her people. It is incredible watching her journey as she first must believe in herself then rise to the occasion. And the surprises! Just when you think you know what might happen, the book throws in a new twist. The ending is a high-stakes, amazing stunner. And Blaise, Soren, Cress, Artemesia, Heron—these are characters you will fall in love with and want to read about again and again. I just wish I had the pleasure of reading Ash Princess for the first time all over again. I cannot wait for the second book in the series! Ash Princess is for fans of Red Queen and Ember in the Ashes, but in my opinion, it’s far better. Read it, and it will become your new favorite.
CrossroadReviews 9 months ago
Noteworthy experiences while reading this book: I am a die-hard fantasy fan and this one hit it off early on. Do I Recommend this book? YES if you love darker themed stories this one is for you! Notes and Opinions: Color me sold with this very dark and dangerous fantasy. I think this one could have gone even darker but as it sits it was so amazing and I couldn't put it down. This one has it all magic, amazing characters, and some wonderful world building. The world building to this one was great. We get a rundown of the magic and the gods in this world as well as a little backstory on what happened. I would love a prequel to this one about Theo's mom and her rule. Or even further back. The author did a fabulous job making this world come to life and I never felt that it was info dumping or confusing me. The magic in this one was new (at least from what books I have read). I love reading about new creatures and new magic. So many authors just use the same old thing with a slight twist and this one didn't do that. The magic in this one was spot on and worked well. It was easy to follow but also still had that mystery surrounding it where you know that they don't know everything about their magic. It really made it feel vibrant, new, and amazing. The characters in this one were great. I do think that this would have made a very good dual POV with Theo and Soren but as it sits it was still wonderful. I really loved Theo she was put into a situation where everything was her fault even though it wasn't. I don't think I would have been strong enough to be whipped again and again. She was strong and fierce and a survivor. I am excited to see what happens in book two Lady Smoke. As for the light love triangle (yes there is one) I really enjoyed it. It was done very well and I again can't wait to see what is going to happen with it. At the end of this book, you find something out about one of her loves. And I am very interested to see how that plays out. At the end of this one, I think that this one overall could have been much darker. This being a higher young adult story I think that the author could have gone all out with the darkness and really make us readers scream. But as it sits I still really loved it. It was pretty much perfect in my eyes. It was still plenty dark and had such an amazing world. If you like darker stories this one is for you! Go Into This One Knowing: Murder, Plots, Magic, Punishments (whipping), no cliffhanger, slight love triangle
Lynne_Lemon 9 months ago
"I am a lamb in the lion's cage, and I don't know that I can survive" I received this book on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 4/5 Stars - Enjoyed it immensely! While I've read a few reviews that say this is the same old same old when it comes to YA, I'm lucky in the fact I haven't been reading YA long and so I have not read the top YA fantasies. I was able to read this with fresh eyes. "We are not defined by the things we do in order to survive. We do not apologize for them...Maybe they have broken you, but you are a sharper weapon because of it. And it's time to strike" The author did an amazing job with character and world building. The tale was incredibly dark, describing ways in which the heroine had been abused/tortured, and how certain characters came to their deaths. There was plenty of intrigue and drama to keep me turning pages, with a few witty quips for good measure. While not a lot really happens, the story flows so smoothly and beautifully that it will keep you in it's grip until the very end. I cannot wait to dive in to Lady Smoke which is slated to be out in 2019.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the characters, except Theo (a.k.a Thora) and Cress, were rather 2 dimensional and predictable, the story line holds the reader's attention. I will read the next in the series but hope that more of the characters are written with more depth and their tie-in to the storyline more artful.
SaraOxo More than 1 year ago
Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian a thrilling four-star read. This is the first book in the Ash Princess trilogy and what a start, this is a great start from the very first page I am so excited for the next book in the series. I would give it five-stars but I was expecting a light and interesting read with some intrigue and mystery and what I got was heavy and darker than I thought it was going to be. If it wasn’t as well planned and written as it is, I would have marked it down. If you like the genre then you will like this story, you may see aspects of other stories in it, but it has been put together well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
**Thank you to NetGalley for the ARC of this title!** When Theodosia was six, her country was invaded, and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. Her life was spared, and she was crowned Ash Princess--a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner. Ten years later, Theo has survived the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court by burying the girl she used to be and putting on the mantle of Thora, submissive and docile girl. Finally, Theo is pushed too far when she is forced to commit an act that she can't forgive herself for. She snaps back from her submissive personality to her old, fiery self, and is determined to be the queen her people deserves. Kat's Notes: This was a good story; there's nothing wrong with Theo's tale. My frustration with it is, it's very familiar. This hasn't even been published yet, and it feels like I've already read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
taramichelle More than 1 year ago
Ash Princess was a surprisingly dark and heavy book that I actually found difficult to read at times. I do appreciate that Sebastian tried to stay true to the reality of colonization but this book relies heavily on some of the darker aspects. If you’re thinking of reading this one, there are trigger warnings for physical and psychological abuse and rape. At the beginning of Ash Princess, Theodora, or Thora, is entirely complacent after a lifetime of beatings and abuse by the man who conquered her country. Known as the “Ash Princess,” Theo is kept alive only at the whims of the Kalovaxian invaders. Her people are enslaved and their lands slowly pillaged and destroyed. Then, the Kaiser forces Theo to do the unthinkable. Destroyed by her actions and uncaring of what it will cost, Theo begins to plot her revenge. I wasn’t quite able to connect with the characters or the story. This is entirely a “it’s me, not you” thing so I do think that a lot of readers are going to love this book. Theo was an interesting character and I enjoyed it when she finally started to stand up for herself. I did like how Sebastian explored empowerment, particularly because Theo’s rebellion was more intellectual than physical. The love triangle didn’t really work for me. I thought that the story with one love interest was significantly more compelling and layered than the other. The choices that Theo ultimately has to make were heart-breaking and I’m intrigued to see their repercussions. I also liked how Sebastian portrayed Theo’s inner conflict between her duty to her people versus her desire to protect herself. Ash Princess was dark and brutal but still engaging. It wasn’t quite my cup of tea but I think many readers will love this one. I will probably continue with the series, I’m interested in seeing where the author takes the story next. *I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.