Attic Nights, Volume I: Books 1-5

Attic Nights, Volume I: Books 1-5

Hardcover(7th printing/1st pub.1927)

Usually ships within 6 days
7 New & Used Starting at $25.03


Aulus Gellius (ca. 123—170 CE) is known almost wholly from his Noctes Atticae, 'Attic Nights', so called because it was begun during the nights of an Attic winter. The work collects in twenty books (of Book VIII only the index is extant) interesting notes covering philosophy, history, biography, all sorts of antiquities, points of law, literary criticism, and lexicographic matters, explanations of old words and questions of grammar. The work is valuable because of its many excerpts from other authors whose works are lost; and because of its evidence for people's manners and occupations. Some at least of the dramatic settings may be genuine occasions.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of Attic Nights is in three volumes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674992153
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/01/1927
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #195
Edition description: 7th printing/1st pub.1927
Pages: 528
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 6.38(h) x (d)

About the Author

John Carew Rolfe (1859–1943) taught at Cornell, Harvard, and the Universities of Michigan and Pennsylvania.

Table of Contents



The Life And Works Of Aulus Gellius

The Manuscripts

Bibliographical Note


The Attic Nights


Chapter Headings, Books I-V

Book I

Book II

Book III

Book IV

Book V


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews