Attic Nights, Volume III: Books 14-20

Attic Nights, Volume III: Books 14-20

Hardcover(6th printing/1st pub.1927)

Usually ships within 6 days
7 New & Used Starting at $22.64


Aulus Gellius (ca. 123—170 CE) is known almost wholly from his Noctes Atticae, 'Attic Nights', so called because it was begun during the nights of an Attic winter. The work collects in twenty books (of Book VIII only the index is extant) interesting notes covering philosophy, history, biography, all sorts of antiquities, points of law, literary criticism, and lexicographic matters, explanations of old words and questions of grammar. The work is valuable because of its many excerpts from other authors whose works are lost; and because of its evidence for people's manners and occupations. Some at least of the dramatic settings may be genuine occasions.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of Attic Nights is in three volumes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674992344
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/01/1927
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #212
Edition description: 6th printing/1st pub.1927
Pages: 544
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 6.38(h) x (d)

About the Author

John Carew Rolfe (1859–1943) taught at Cornell, Harvard, and the Universities of Michigan and Pennsylvania.

Table of Contents

Attic Nights

Chapter Headings

Book XIV

Book XV

Book XVI



Book XIX

Book XX

Index Of Names

Greek Index Of Names

Index Of Subjects

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews